Going Slow

I had to take to the bed yesterday as I was out of my head on drugs. Eh…prescribed drugs, that is, the sort used to alleviate acute back pain. I wasn’t alone in the bedroom either. Lots of people shared my bed and they were great company. You see I had a laptop on the other pillow so that I could keep an eye on the world. A big thank you to anyone who left a comment yesterday. It was the best tonic ever.

I returned from the GP’s surgery weighed down with pills and potions. I felt so spaced out on the new medication, I decided not to attempt to blog yesterday. Who knows what I might have said!!! I was prescribed some pretty heavy duty painkillers which when combined with Valium (an effective muscle relaxant) makes for a heady dose. My lower back is still rigid with spasm so the aim now is to break the cycle of pain with a constant top-up of the ‘fix’ until my back heals. The pain level is definitely less acute at rest today but when I move, it ain’t good. My doctor concluded that the problem is most likely a torn facet joint on one side of my lumbar spine. The pain definitely has a different sort of presentation to the back pain I’ve experienced in the past. The Doc was confident that it is not a ruptured disc so at least that was some good news. Treatment is conservative for now with rest and pain relief. Physiotherapy may be required at a later stage to strengthen up my back. My GP doesn’t think that this problem is related to the steroid treatment I’m on though he did opt to reduce the level of cortisone as a safety measure, and substitute it with something else. Years ago, I ended up in severe generalised joint pain following a short course of oral corticosteroids so extra caution is no bad thing.

You know this back spasm thing is a very strange business as my arms seem to have shrunk in length. I’ll leave you to work out how I discovered this πŸ˜‰

So I’m staying put today. Not a lot of choice in the matter actually. I can’t get out of first gear.

Thanks again. I’ll be back…

7 Responses to Going Slow

  1. Grannymar says:

    I hope it doesn’t hurt to laugh! Think couch and……. πŸ˜‰ say nuttin!

  2. Grannymar says:

    I’m off to buy the Indo, Elly says I made page 18 of the Business section, Well page 3 at my age is a bit much to expect!! πŸ˜†

  3. Steph says:

    Ouch!

    You meanie, Grannymar – it really hurts to take a deep breath.

    You’re just jealous ‘cos I got to share my bed yesterday πŸ˜‰

  4. Bendy Girl says:

    Ouch, feel better soon! Are your arms ‘shorter’ because you can’t touch your toes whilst your back is bad? Mine always does that, hands flat on the floor on the rare days my back is still ok, if it’s really bad can’t even get to my feet.
    Rest up and take care, hugs BG x

  5. Steph says:

    Hi! BG

    Think toilet roll and you’ll get the gist! πŸ˜€

    My back is in such spasm it’s like a rod though the Valium has eased the muscles a bit today, as long as I stay off my feet. Sleep is very difficult. I’d be lost without a laptop in the bed!

    btw You’re absolutely right about core stability. It’s vital for EDS ‘ers to prevent unnecessary tears.

    Are you on the mend? You’ve been ill for a long time, you poor thing.

    I’m not unwell, just a bit spaced out from medication.

  6. Achelois says:

    Bendy Girl’s Blog sent me here. I am a fellow Eds’er. Hoping you feel a whole lot better soon.

    Achelois.

  7. Steph says:

    Welcome! Achelois and thank you.

    I’m delighted to welcome another EDS’er and I hope you find some stuff you can relate to here.

    Do you have a blog? I’ll pop over for a read if you would prefer to email me a link.

Leave a Reply

