Blog Post of the Month

The Irish Blog Awards under the able leadership of Damien Mulley, have come up with another great idea.

“As a way of keeping interest going in the Blog Awards, there will be a “Blog Post of the Month” awarded to an Irish Blogger/Group of Bloggers who has/have written what the judges deem the best post that month.”

And here is my nomination for this award:

I have no hesitation whatsoever in nominating Grannymar for her post The light went out.

This post quite simply blew me away. In fact, judging by the comments, everyone who’s read it was blown away. It touched the hearts of all, young and old and indeed many of us were reduced to tears.

Grannymar wrote this post on the tenth anniversary of the death of her husband, Jack. It is a beautiful tribute written with great courage, wisdom, honesty, grace and enormous love.

By writing about her loss, Grannymar has overcome the taboo surrounding death and dying and I’ve no doubt that her words will help to ease the journey of others through bereavement. She also deals brilliantly with the thorny subject of the insensitivity shown by some people on meeting a bereaved person. She reminds us to be careful of what we say as ill-chosen words can be very hurtful when emotions are raw. But most of all, Grannymar illustrates beautifully how the human spirit can overcome adversity and begin to find joy in life once more. She is truly inspirational and her daughter, Elly can rightly be very proud of her.

I highly recommend you pop over to Grannymar’s to share in this uplifting post but don’t forget to bring some tissues. It’s moving stuff!

This post truly deserves to win a Blog Post of the Month Award.

13 Responses to Blog Post of the Month

  1. Robin says:

    here here!

  2. Grannymar says:

    Oh gosh Steph!
    You are kind to think of me but there so many thought provoking intelligent and rib-ticklingly funny bloggers out there worthy of this award. I had my chance in March, now it is time for others.

  3. Steph says:

    Grannymar – you are MORE than worthy of this award.

    Your blog is also thoroughly thought provoking, intelligent and rib-ticklingly funny 😆

    …and lots, lots more too.

    The post I’ve nominated was exceptional and it really deserves recognition. Even if it doesn’t win the award, it will always be a winner… of many hearts. Good luck!

  4. Seconded … thirded … fourthed ….

    good choice Steph! :mrgreen:

  5. Steph says:

    Thanks Paddy.

    It always feels extra good when you get the teacher’s approval! 😉

  6. Baino says:

    Here here Steph, we have to start somewhere. Sadly I do not qualify being an Antipodean blogger but can I nominate?

  7. Steph says:

    Baino – I see no reason why you couldn’t nominate as long as it’s an Irish blogger you choose. Now, let me guess…hmm 😉

    You need a mover and shaker like Damien Mulley, to get some blog awards going in Oz. We’re very lucky to have someone dynamic like him, to drive the blogging scene forward. Knowing Damien, he probably reads your blog so you could always drop him a comment!

    http://www.mulley.net/

  8. Laura says:

    I late in on all this but I totally agree.. it was a stunning piece of writing and deserves an award.

  9. Laura says:

    that should be I am late in on all this … really I am slowly losing it

  10. Steph says:

    Thanks! Laura

    I reckon anyone who reads that post of Grannymar’s will automatically be a winner!

    Where would we be without a Grannymar to keep us on the straight and narrow?…

    most of the time! 😉

  11. […] light went out. This was nominated by a few people and I think this text from one of the people that nominated the post covers why it’s […]

  12. Steph says:

    AND THE WINNER IS…

    http://awards.ie/blogawards/2008/05/28/blog-post-of-the-month-for-april-2008-sponsored-by-o2/

    ***Well done! Grannymar***

    As soon as I heard about the new ‘Blog Post of the Month’ award, I knew this post had what it takes to win. I’m really thrilled both it and Grannymar have got the recognition deserved. Hurray! Hurray! Hurray!

  13. Grannymar says:

    Steph

    I think you started the ball rolling! A great big thanks to you and everyone who nominated me.

Leave a Reply

