The Sea Stallion

Today I’m breaking with the usual format of this blog to write about something that has nothing to do with medical matters. Actually, if you really want to know, I’m writing this for my good friend, Grannymar who earlier today on her blog, put in a request for a Viking. Never one to disappoint, I set off on a journey to see what I could find.

I left the port of Howth this morning in the company of some good friends who were kind enough to invite me and the hubbie to join them on their 32ft sailing boat, to sail around into Dublin Bay to watch a Viking replica ship leave Dublin Port en route to Denmark.

The 30 metre long “Sea Stallion from Glendalough” is the world’s largest Viking ship reconstruction. The remains of the original ship which was constructed out of Irish wood nearly 1,000 years ago, were found in 1962 following excavations in the Roskilde Fjord in Denmark. After many years of hard work, a replica was reconstructed to resemble how the ship would have appeared all those years ago.

On 1 July 2007, the Sea Stallion left Denmark to travel to Dublin on an expedition to recreate the epic Viking voyages made from Scandinavia to our land generations ago. On arriving in Dublin in August 2007, the Sea Stallion went on public view for the winter months, at Collins Barracks. Today marks the start of it’s journey back to Denmark.

We had a fairly lively sail in Force 6-7 winds, arriving at the mouth of Dublin Port just in time to see the Sea Stallion emerge under sail. The ship was closely followed by a large flotilla of boats having had a big send-off from Dublin docks. Luckily, the wind ebbed at this stage and the sun came out to turn the event into a magnificent spectacle. We accompanied the Viking ship as it sailed around the Baily lighthouse (pictured above) and on past the island, called Ireland’s Eye (off Howth), before we parted company to drop anchor ourselves and enjoy lunch in the shelter of the island. It was a fantastic day-out.

I counted 44 ‘Viking’ heads onboard the ship today. I’m hoping that this ‘catch’ will be enough to satisfy Grannymar’s wishes.

I did my best Grannymar… honest!

Photos thanks to my husband, Jaimie


11 Responses to The Sea Stallion

  1. Grannymar says:

    That sounds like a fantastic day Steph.

    I love the photos, even if I am unable to get at the Toyboys on board πŸ˜‰

    Lucky you with a personal photographer with a very steady hand. Thank you Jaimie (((hugs))).

  2. Baino says:

    Lovely day on the water although sailing in high winds is not something I’m keen on! Great shots! Where’s your harbour bridge and opera house?

  3. Bendy Girl says:

    Different but fantastic! Hope you had a lovely sail, BG x

  4. Caoimhin says:

    What a great event to have witnessed! Thanks for sharing the photos and the account of your adventure Steph! πŸ™‚

  5. Steph says:

    Thank-you everyone.

    Yesterday really was a day to treasure. A great sail in testing conditions, the fantastic spectacle of the Sea Stallion under sail, basking in the sunshine over lunch while anchored at the island watching thousands of sea birds nesting, and all this in the company of very good friends. Add some nice cheese and wine to the equation and you get the full picture.

    It doesn’t come like this very often but when it does, it’s heaven!

    Days Like This

    When its not always raining there’ll be days like this
    When there’s no one complaining there’ll be days like this
    When everything falls into place like the flick of a switch
    Well my mama told me there’ll be days like this

    Van Morrison

  6. Grannymar says:

    Steph I can hear you singing! Well, I had to come back for another look at those Toyboys!

    When is the CD coming out? πŸ˜‰

  7. Steph says:

    Grannymar

    Do you wanna be in my gang, my gang, my gang! πŸ˜€

  8. Grannymar says:

    Steph

    I’m back! Puff, pant>

    I was having singing lessons, I might be ready tomorrow. πŸ™„

  9. Steph says:

    Sorry GM

    Wimbledon took precedence over blogging today. I’ve just watched the best match of the tournament so far where Andy Murray (GBR) beat R. Gasquet (FRA) in an epic 5-set dual. The match lasted almost 4 hours! I’m exhausted just from watching!

Leave a Reply

