I’m not here

I’m away. I’m off to the wilds of Connemara this morning for a few days of fresh air, walking the white beaches, eating seafood and drinking lots of Guinness. I may even dip my toes into the sea and while it’s pure agony to get into the cold, clear water of the Atlantic, the healthy feeling afterwards is magic!

Before I go, I want to wish a speedy recovery to the Distant Rambler who is stuck in hospital at the moment, following surgery. GET WELL SOON, LAURA! I’ll raise a pint to you.

Please feel free to leave me a comment as I shall check my blog while away. I couldn’t possibly leave my friends behind!

16 Responses to I’m not here

  1. Bendy Girl says:

    Have a wonderful time, oh and take lots of photos for us all to see! BG x

  2. Hope you have a wonderful break, Steph! Have fun!

  3. Mike says:

    Have a great time Steph,,as swim in the atlantic followed by a nice creamy pint-sure what more could a body want

  4. Grannymar says:

    Safe journey, enjoy the break and come back soon.

    We miss you already.

  5. Roy says:

    ENJOY! I’m with you on the “friends” thing, it’s hard to leave it behind now, as it’s your only contact with certain friends

  6. Baino says:

    Ooooh seafood! Have a lovely holiday . . .Swim in the Atalantic? You are mad woman!

  7. Steph says:

    Hello folks! I’m still not here, well not really 😉

    Thank you all for your well wishes. It’s tough job this being on holiday.

    Stopped off en route for a lovely woodland walk (Ballynahinch Castle grounds) and arrived in Roundstone just as the sun came out. A beautiful creamy pint of the black stuff (while sitting on harbour wall) soon revived the soul and then it was off to a little gem of a hotel to enjoy a 5 course meal while watching the sun go down over the bay. Forecast is good for tomorrow so lots of beach walks anticipated. God, it’s a hard life!

    It’s like the old days here with no broadband but your messages still made it safely and it was lovely to find them. I’m gonna sign off now and will try to update tomorrow.

    Sorry to be such a tease, but the breakfast menu is to die for as well! 😀

  8. Dr. Thunder says:

    Hey Steph. I’ve just been on “holidays”….a 3 month placement in rural Australia. Not so good for my sanity. Glad to be back in the big city, where my internet access is regular enough to allow me to read your blog again. Hope you’re doing well. We’ve got a new bloger over at two weeks, who I think you might like.

    Enjoy the rest of your trip,

    Dr. Thunder.
    http://www.twoweeksonatrolley.blogspot.com

  9. steph says:

    Hello again

    It’s been murder trying to get a signal tonight and the connection is so slow, it’s painful! Haven’t been able to login either but at least I’m here.

    Hi! Dr. Thunder

    Great to hear from you again. I look forward to hearing about your adventures in the outback and to reading LOADS more posts over at ‘two weeks’.

    I’ve had a fantastic day today. Been outdoors since breakfast – beautiful walk on the grassy dunes (lovely springy surface for my aching joints) AND wait for it… I had a swim! Can’t say it was a lot of pleasure but I got in so quickly, I didn’t have time to chicken out and managed a few quick swims in the crystal clear water before making a dash for it. It felt great afterwards and earned me a large bowl of the best seafood chowder in the West!

    Then it was off to Kylemore Abbey to re-visit the Victorian walled gardens which have been beautifully restored. I first visited it when it opened to the publlic about 6-7 years ago and there’s been much progress in the interim. For anyone with an interest in growing vegetables, fruit etc., it’s gem of a place. It’s also has the longest herbaceous border in the Ireland.

    Then on to another beach for a walk in beautiful sunshine before finally ending up in Cleggan for an outdoor meal of fresh crab open sandwich and salad. Yum!

    Now back at hotel after a hot shower and looking forward to more of the same tomorrow. Although, things could go a bit downhill after the comfort of the last few days. All will be explained.

  10. Steph says:

    Currently sitting in the middle of Roundstone bog having visited the historic landing site of the first trans-Atlantic flight by Alcock and Brown. They ran out of fuel just as they reached the Irish coastline and crash landed into the bog.

    It’s also the site of the old Marconi radio station for the first ever trans-Atlantic radio transmission between Ireland and the US. Poor old Marconi would probably turn in his grave if he could see me now, typing on a laptop with an internet connection from the car!

    http://www.marconicalling.com/museum/html/places/places-i=18.html

    Weather is a bit overcast today but still lovely and warm. I’m off now for another adventure. Will keep you posted tonight.

  11. Steph says:

    Sorry guys!

    It’s so nice where I am this evening, you’re gonna have to wait for an update. Lots of pics to follow. Believe me, they’ll be worth waiting for! I’m somewhere REALLY special and it’s all FREE!

    See you soon! Steph

  12. Have a good one Steph!

    I’ll be here when you get back … 🙂

  13. Knipex says:

    Enjoy the break Steph…

    I could do with one myself…..

  14. Mike says:

    Glad to see you enjoyed the swim Steph…the water wasn’t that bad after all was it. Bet it gave you a bit of a thirst!

  15. Steph says:

    Me again!

    Good to hear from you Paddy. Writing this in car en route from the West back to the East coast, with a good broadband connection. Thankfully, it started to rain this morning just as we were packing up, making it a little easier to say goodbye to the beauty of Connemara.

    Thanks! Knipex – I did. It’s amazing how only a 3-night break can be so refreshing. We had a beautiful sunset last night and with the calm sea, it looked more like the Med than the Atlantic.

    Mike – I hope you’re going to be proud of me. I had a swim EVERY day while in the West. It never got any easier or more enjoyable but I still wouldn’t miss it for the feel-good factor afterwards. BTW Thanks for the link the other day and your kind words!

  16. Mike says:

    The more you do it the easier it gets Steph. You never know you might start winter swimming-
    that will give you a real thirst!
    I’m telling everyone I know about your site. it deserves an award in my opinion

Leave a Reply

