About Me

My blogging friend, Paddy Bloggit wants to know more about me.  I’ve been challenged along with Grannymar and Baino (his faithful trio) to do this meme so here goes…

  • What is your occupation? At the moment, I’m busy keeping the show on the road for family and elderly parents. I’ve had a long ‘career’ in medicine (on the receiving end) but once upon a time I worked in medical research.
  • What colour are your socks right now? Black.
  • What are you listening to right now? My 9-month old cat, Noodle playing with a twig on the kitchen floor.
  • Can you drive a stick shift? That sounds positively naughty but having checked it out, the answer is YES.  No other choice.
  • Last person you spoke to on the phone? My hubby, who was on a ‘call-out’ this morning. He and my son, are volunteers with the local Coast Guard team and today they were on a search and rescue mission to look for a missing person. The casualty was eventually found severely injured, but alive.
  • Do you like the person who you stole this quiz from / tagged you? Yes, Paddy is someone I’d love to meet. Hopefully, some day we will.
  • How old are you today? 51 going on 21.  Happy Birthday for tomorrow, Paddy!
  • Favourite drink? Italian wine. I’m also partial to a pint (or two) of the black stuff when on holiday.
  • Favourite sport to watch? Tennis and when I’m not watching tennis, rugby.  I don’t like football, golf or cricket.
  • Pets? Two cats. Doodle (age 10) and Noodle (who drives Doodle mad!).
  • Favourite food? Fresh crabmeat with salad and brown bread/chips.
  • What was the last movie you watched? Last movie I saw in the cinema was Mamma Mia. I’m not a big movie fan.  I prefer real life documentaries.
  • What’s your favourite day of the week? Don’t have one really. I’ve had to learn to expect the unexpected with my health and so any day that goes as planned, is a bonus.
  • How do you vent anger? I usually talk it out of my system. I don’t bottle up feelings and I’m known for speaking my mind.
  • What was your favourite toy as a child? I never had a teddy 😦   I think most of my toys were shared as I had a twin brother.
  • What is your favourite season? I love the colours of autumn.  Autumn also means shorter days and a great excuse to meet friends in the local pub for drinks in front of an open fire.
  • Hugs or kisses? Definitely hugs.
  • Cherries or Blueberries? Don’t much like either. Raspberries are my favourite berry.
  • Do you want your friends to do this quiz? Only if they’d like to.  I’m looking forward to reading Grannymar and Baino’s answers.
  • Who is the most likely to respond? I’m sure they both will.
  • Living arrangements? I’ve been living with my present husband 😉 for 30+ years and our two adult children come and go.
  • When was the last time you cried? I cry regularly.  Ever since I became a mother, the tears seem to flow easily.  It doesn’t bother me as I find crying very therapeutic and generally feel better for it.
  • What is on the floor of your closet? Now that would be telling!  I don’t want to let the secret out of the closet  😉
  • Who is the friend you have had the longest that you hope takes this quiz? Doesn’t really apply here.
  • What did you do last NIGHT? Need you ask?  I read blogs all evening and then went to bed icy cold.
  • Favourite smells? A cooked breakfast when someone else cooks it.  Otherwise fresh coffee or a turf fire.
  • What inspires you? Stories about other people’s lives and especially those who have faced great adversity.
  • What are you afraid of? Spiders and snakes.
  • Favourite dog breed? Not fussy. Dogs make me wheeze but I still love them.
  • How many states have you lived in? I’ve never lived anywhere except Ireland. If I had a choice, I would love to live in New Zealand.
  • Favourite holiday? Without any hesitation – a stay in Connemara, walking the beaches and enjoying loads of pub craic.

6 Responses to About Me

  1. Nice one Steph!

    Thanks for taking up the challenge …. it’s nice to learn a little bit more about my ‘harem’ girls …. all in a tasteful manner of course. I must keep the spiders and snakes locked up when you visit ‘Paddy’s place’!

    If you like Connemara you’d love Kenmare and West Cork. The variety of scenery is breathtaking.

    P.S. I love the names of the cats!

  2. Baino says:

    Haha . . am I that predictable. Of course I’ll do it! ‘harem girls’ indeed! He’s all talk and no action if you ask me! Will you serve me crab meat salad and brown bread when I visit? (Clare and I had prawn and avocado salad for dinner last night – yum!)

  3. Grannymar says:

    If I stopped chatting to folk on the net I might manage to get mine started! 😉

  4. Steph says:

    Paddy – I enjoyed doing that meme, thanks and even if my life appears deadly boring, I don’t care. I’m happy 😀

    I forgot to add, we also have a pony (Flint) which my daughter idolises. I don’t know how I forgot to mention Flint as he’s one of the reasons why we don’t often get further than Connemara for a holiday.

    I do love West Cork AND Kenmare, and Murphy’s. Grannymar gets to look after the spiders in your shed while Baino and I go seek out the best pubs 😈

    Baino – I’ll serve you fresh shellfish and brown bread every day if you promise to visit sometime. But only, if you promise to wash it all down with a pint of the black stuff 😀

  5. Steph says:

    Hiya! Grannymar

    Were your ears burning? :mrgreen:

  6. Now girls …. behave …. I want harmony in the harem!

    What’s that you said Baino? Tis your turn tonight! Although I’m fairly exhausted from Grannymar! (We had along conversation last night!) 😉

Leave a Reply

