Not MRSA again!

It’s been a strange week after all the excitement of the blog awards. I’ve got a swollen head but for all the wrong reasons. My right eye started to swell on Sunday evening shortly after my arrival home from Cork. I wasn’t unduly worried as this has happened before following a flight and anyway, I was covered by an antibiotic  following a recent infection in my head. By Monday the swelling hadn’t subsided and the pressure behind my eye was growing worse. I also felt rotten and had pus oozing down the back of my throat. On Tuesday morning, I sought urgent help and was lucky to get an appointment to see my surgeon at the hospital. He took a swab of the pus and did his best to reassure me but we both knew that with my previous history, there was real cause for concern. My biggest fear was a return of the superbug, MRSA but it would take another 48 hours before my destiny was known.

This afternoon I had some good news.  I have an MSSA (methicillin sensitive Staph aureus) infection, not it’s resistant relative, MRSA. This is really welcome news as it extends my treatment options. Had it been MRSA again, I might well have been faced with many weeks of IV treatment in hospital due to antibiotic resistance. I was started on a new antibiotic last Tuesday but worryingly, it hasn’t kicked-in as yet.  My eye remains swollen and my head still hurts but I’m feeling good.

You see, in the midst of all my woes, I received a lovely surprise from Absolute Vanilla and it’s really boosted my spirits. AV is a highly creative writer, a hugely talented photographer and a very popular blogger so I’m honoured to receive this award from her.

BEST BLOG THINKER AWARD

best-blog-thinker-award

To Steph of  The Biopsy Report who has written tirelessly and courageously about illness and the Irish health system.

“This award acknowledges the values that every Blogger displays in their effort to transmit cultural, ethical, literary, and personal values with each message they write. Awards like this have been created with the intention of promoting community among Bloggers. It`s a way to show appreciation and gratitude for work that adds value to the Web.”

This beautifully timed award has worked far better than any antibiotic. I wear it with pride. Dankie! AV.

18 Responses to Not MRSA again!

  1. annb says:

    Sorry to hear you’re not well Steph. I’m sending you lots of healing vibes from the west- and hoping you feel better soon. Take care
    Annb

  2. Aw Steph! I’m so sorry the bugs have got you again – bloody blighters. I do so hope the treatment kicks in really soon and that you’re better in no time at all. You are very much in my thoughts.

    Take good care of you – and giving you the award – dit was my plesier! (it was my pleasure!)
    (which would kinda sound like dit vus may plih-seer) 🙂

  3. Bendy Girl says:

    Oh noes! Sorry to hear you’re poorly again, but what a relief it’s not MRSA. Hugs, love and wishes for you to get better very soon. BG x

  4. Steph says:

    Thanks guys! I really didn’t write this post to look for sympathy, I just needed to say it to deal with the frustration of being back where I am again.

    There’s no improvement in my head as yet but I have to live in hope. Thanks for all your well wishes 🙂

  5. Have you tried meditation? I recommend a very green diet with wheat grass. Try detoxing your body.

  6. Steph says:

    Grant – Hello and welcome.

    If fixing the chronic infection in my head was that easy, it would have been fixed years ago. I presume you’re being serious but I’m afraid life isn’t that simple. I’ve a complicated medical history which I wouldn’t wish on anyone, not even those who think that meditation and detox are the answer!

  7. Baino says:

    Ah Steph, very pleased that it’s not the dreaded infection but it still sounds awful. And the award is well deserved, you’re a seasoned campaigner! Hope you’re feeling much, much better very soon.

  8. Grannymar says:

    Hi Steph,

    I hope by now the meds are beginning to kick in. Rest well & Big Hugs.

  9. Sharon says:

    Hello Steph

    I have not yet been over to say hello since the awards night. It was a real pleasure meeting you. I am sorry to hear you’ve been ill in the week since (though you’re not seeking sympathy!) and I hope that you will be feeling better soon.

    Congratulations on the Blog Thinker award, it’s richly deserved.

  10. Steph says:

    Baino – Thanks for your support! I’m 2 weeks fighting this infection, with two different antibiotics and I’m still not out of the woods yet. The first antibiotic seemed to work initially and gave me a breather but then the bugs got their second wind and came back with a vengeance. I’m blaming Ryanair!

    Grannymar – I’m only now realising how lucky I was with the timing of the IBAs. One weekend either side and I wouldn’t have got there. I shall indulge myself in an afternoon of rugby today with the hope that the Irish squad and Steph will be celebrating by nightfall.

    Sharon – Thanks for visiting. It was only brill to meet you (and your lovely sister) last weekend and especially as we were the only ones representing our much-talked-about category 😉

    Well done for submitting your thoughts on the judging process. I understand people’s frustration but I didn’t get involved as 1.) I’ve had other priorities on my mind since Sun and 2.) I didn’t want the controversy to take away from the ‘high’ of the event. Hopefully next year’s judging process will have firmer guidelines as a result. I salute you for volunteering to take on the task of judging, you’re a braver woman than I!

  11. Sharon says:

    Steph, I hesitated before wading in on the debate. I really hope it didn’t come across as just sour grapes on my part (my brother thought it did ;-( )but as a genuine query. It matters not as taking part is an honour in itself and by far the most important aspect of the evening was meeting old friends and making new ones.
    Though I’d far rather you, Xbox or Irish Taxi had won!

  12. Sharon says:

    Oops, I tried to do a smiley thingie but messed it up! It was supposed to be a sad face!

  13. Steph says:

    Sharon – That’ll teach you for trying to wink while pouting 😉

    Can I assure you that your comments on the IBAs did not come across as sour grapes. Quite the opposite in fact. You were stating your honest opinion and the fact that you declared you’d been a judge and had adhered to the criteria, gave your comments all the more credence. I’m quite sure you will have gained, not lost, respect for stating your views.

  14. Jeanie says:

    Hi Steph
    So sorry to read about your MSSA. Hope those antibiotics are kicking in now. Great reading the Biopsy Report. Love and hugs from across the world. Jxx

  15. Steph says:

    Jeanie – What a lovely surprise!

    Oops! I forgot to answer your email, sorry! 😳

    The fact that you had to come here to get my attention, is hilarious 😆

    Please dearest cousin, I promise to do better, to keep in touch 😀

  16. Laura says:

    How you feeling now? I am hoping you are taking it easy (but my brain tells me your as busy as ever and running around after everyone)

    Love as ever (and you are in my thoughts often really)

    Laura

  17. Steph says:

    Laura – No need to worry. I’m back on track, albeit on long term antibiotics. Once antibiotics kick in, I’m as right as rain but staying well without medication, is an uphill task. We live and learn.

    I’m full of admiration for the way you get on with your life despite all the crap thrown at you. Take good care.

    Hugs
    Steph

  18. […] swelling. Because of my previous history, I was seen urgently by the surgeon who oversees my care. A swab ruled out MRSA but my new resistance to Doxycycline, was a definite cause for concern. I was started on another […]

Leave a Reply

