Thank God

A man suffered a heart attack and had open heart surgery. He was awakened from the surgery to find himself in the care of nuns at the hospital.  As he was recovering, a nun asked about how he was going to pay for his care.  He was asked if he had health insurance.

He replied in a raspy voice, “No health insurance”.

Then he was asked if he had money in the bank.

“No money in the bank”.

Finally, “Do you have a relative who could help you?”

He said, “I have only a spinster sister who is a nun”.

The nun got a little perturbed and announced “Nuns are not spinsters! Nuns are married to God”.

The patient replied, “Well then, send the bill to my brother-in-law”.

8 Responses to Thank God

  1. Grannymar says:

    Listen Sister… If I send on all my bills will you pass them on! 😆

  2. Cathy says:

    LOL…Good one!

  3. Annb says:

    A non believing friend of mine was admitted to hospital some years ago for a minor procedure. Filling in the form at admissions, she was asked what religion she followed, to which she replied, none. Waking up later in recovery, she found her friends and family were highly amused to find that her hospital admission stated that she was a nun!!!

  4. Steph says:

    Grannymar,
    I’d do anything for you dear, anything…
    Yes I’d do anything
    Anything?
    Anything for you! 😀

    Cathy – Glad you enjoyed it. I love the animation.

    Annb – I love that! Whenever I get asked in hospital about my religion, I always feel like replying “mind your own business!”

    I thought of you today on reading an extract in the Sunday Indo, from a book I think you’d enjoy. The book is called ‘Tuesday’s Child‘ by Kathy Evans. In it, Kathy documents her experience at the hands of the health service following the birth in 2003 of her daughter, Caoimhe who has Down’s syndrome.

    “I can’t help but wonder at how the comfortable landscape of my past life has been transformed into a series of complications from which I ricochet, one to another. Life with a disabled child can sometimes feel like a series of battles to be fought and overcome. Still, at the interface between each one is a space where I can revel in the happiness of her being, a place where love finds a voice”.

    Caoimhe was born in Australia and lived there for her first two years before coming to Ireland. She’s now returned to Melbourne with her family after three years in Ireland, as the Irish climate was harming her health. The book sounds like a great read.

  5. annb says:

    Thanks Steph. That book sounds well worth a read, I’ll keep an eye out for it. One of the casualties of the ‘comfortable landscape of my own life’ has been newspapers, I just don’t have the patience any more. It’s amazing how blogs have really filled that old newspaper space, they just seem more honest and relevant.

  6. Steph says:

    Annb – It’s just published (Feb 09) by Gill & Macmillan @ €12.99 so may be in your local library soon. Also available on Amazon.

    I’m the same about newspapers. I only buy weekend ones these days and even then, I have to drag myself away from the computer to read them.

  7. Baino says:

    God the conductor looks like me from the back!

  8. Steph says:

    Baino – Bless your powers of observation. I was too busy laughing at the nuns faces, to notice.

    We had our own gospel choir at the IBAs…

    http://darraghdoyle.blogspot.com/2009/02/irish-blog-awards-2009-category-intro.html

    (listen to the end)

Leave a Reply

