It’s A Beautiful Day

It’s 7am Friday and barely 16 hours since I came out of the operating theatre. I’m still on hourly checks in an observation room with drips attached to my hand and foot, a morphine pump and an oxygen mask. Otherwise, I’m in remarkably good form. Best news of all is that the surgery went really well yesterday, the surgeon is happy with his handiwork and I’ve had no post-op complications. Today marks a new me and there’ll be no stopping me now.

Yesterday’s surgery took longer than expected, four hours to be exact. No cutting this time, just a lot of drilling to remove the diseased bone.  It was all done endoscopically through my nose by image-guided surgery. I spent two hours in the recovery room afterwards before being transferred back to the unit. The pain is well controlled by a morphine pump which I can dispense as needed. My surgeon has been fantastic, totally determined to get the best result and amazingly attentive and caring.

The NHS has scored 1/10 on nursing care (more anon).

Hubby 12/10!

More to follow.

7 Responses to It’s A Beautiful Day

  1. Annb says:

    A truly beautiful day! So thrilled to hear all went well.
    Take care, rest up and make friends with that morphine pump! Large hugs going out to you from all in Galway. We’ll keep the candle lit ’till you get home.

  2. Grannymar says:

    Welcome back to the blog world! It was good to get your dictated message yesterday, thanks Hubby I appreciate it.

    Now Steph, rest plenty you don’t want any setbacks. We want you home soon.

  3. Lily says:

    Delighted to hear of your progress. Thinking of you

  4. Baino says:

    Haha . .and you don’t even sound high! I stopped taking my morphine after the hyster because it made me loopy! You’re amazing, blogging already. So glad it all went well. Bet you look like a prize-fighter tho!

  5. achelois says:

    I was so pleased to see your post pop up in google reader, you had been on my mind. The other side of the operation and on the road to recovery….. I am so pleased for you.

  6. Nancy says:

    So, there you are, all well and raring to go.

    Take good care of yourself.We are all anxious to hear that you are home and good as new..

    Tell Hubby thank you from us for keeping us in the loop. We were all concerned and we feel much better about your operation now that everything has gone so well..

  7. Steph says:

    Thanks guys! 😀

    On the first night post-op, I was monitored every hour and got little or no sleep. The iPod was a godsend as I could escape into my own world of karaoke using the oxygen mask as the microphone 😉

    As dawn broke, I was listening to Freddie belting out ‘It’s a Beautiful Day’ and couldn’t help but feel the connection. The words of this post just flooded into my head and when the hubby arrived to visit with his laptop, I had it typed up within minutes. I then emailed my son at home to ask him to add the ‘you tube’ as I was working off roaming charges in the hospital. Once ready, he sent it back to me for approval so that I could be the one to hit ‘publish’. We make a good team! It left me with a great sense of achievement (and a cracker of a headache from straining to use the keyboard) but you’re worth it! Thanks again 😀

Leave a Reply

