Tie a Yellow Ribbon

I’m coming home. I’ve done my time.

Now I’ve got to know what is and isn’t mine.

It’s been three long years six long days in the UK. I’m ready for home.

I was discharged from the hospital on Saturday and have spent the last few days resting-up at a friend’s house near Birmingham, in preparation for the flight home. It’s been bliss to be able to recuperate in peace and quiet without the constant disruptions of hospital life. My post-operative path has been more rocky than anticipated but the surgeon is now happy for me to fly this evening. Things have already begun to improve following a change in medication so I’m confident all will be well. I return to Notts next Monday for follow-up.

Thanks for all comments and well wishes. I will catch-up with you all once things settle down a bit. So much has happened, its gonna be hard to know where to start. See you on the other side of the pond.

8 Responses to Tie a Yellow Ribbon

  1. Grannymar says:

    The yellow ribbon is on the base of the burning candle.

    Travel safely.

  2. Annb says:

    Great news. Delighted to hear you coming home, safe journey. Will keep the vigil going till you land safely in your front door!

  3. Bendy Girl says:

    Really glad to hear this, safe trip! BG x

  4. Nancy says:

    What good news you have given us. Delighted to hear you will be home safe and sound tonight..

  5. Baino says:

    Ah lovely. Now you take it easy. The washing up can wait!

  6. Steph says:

    Hello again

    Thank you one and all for your thoughtful responses. It really helps to have you accompany me on this journey.

    My flight home turned out to be a doddle. The hubby and I were dropped to the door of the airport by our friends (I lay flat in back of car for the journey to minimise pressure in my head), our flight was on time and before we knew it, we were back on Irish soil. The newly designed interior of my skull, seemed to cope well with air pressures so any worries in this regard, were unfounded.

    Our stay in Brum was the perfect stop-over but it was good to get home. The microscopic colitis (CC) has unfortunately flared up again due to post-op antibiotics but I’m gradually getting better each day now that the antibiotic has been stopped.

    The biggest hurdle so far has been in coming to terms with the complete loss of sense of smell and taste. I’ve been told that there is a small chance of gradual improvement and I’m clinging to that hope for now . It was big shock to discover that I can no longer smell coffee brewing or enjoy a tasty meal. I’ll get over it. It could have been my eyesight I lost and then I really would have reason to feel sorry for myself.

    At the moment, rest is the priority. I’ll bring you some more tales from the NHS when I next post.

  7. Knipex says:

    Welcome home Steph. Glad to hear all went well (except for the smell and taste but here is hoping.)

  8. Steph says:

    Thanks Knipex! Sure is good to be home 😀

    My nose is actually internally splinted to support bone loss and I’m sure I’ll be a lot more comfortable once this is removed. I’ve never had so much fresh air reach my brain!

Leave a Reply

