Don’t Laugh!

cat with drip stand

Day 2 post-op. Still in a theatre gown and with several drips attached, I decided fresh nightwear and a proper wash was in order. I hobbled off down the corridor to the nearest bathroom, trailing my drip stand behind. My father was right, you do “learn something new everyday”. You have been warned.

I got the theatre gown off without any difficulty and after a good wash, changed into a fresh nightdress. On dropping my Bridget Jones’, I suddenly realised that I had a problem. With two drips still attached to my left foot, there was no way I could get my knickers off! I debated going out to the nurses station to get disconnected but then my determination to succeed took over. I was not going to be defeated by this challenge. Can you work out how I managed?

I tore off the original pair and discarded them in the bin. That was the easy part. To get the fresh pair on, I had to thread them over the top of the drip stand, then carefully over both drips, all the way down the stand and finally, I stretched them over each of the four legs, one by one. By that stage, I was totally exhausted from all the exertion. And you’ll never guess what? When they got to my foot, they were upside down and back to front so I had to start all over again! πŸ˜†

UPDATE: When my son read this post, he asked (quite logically) why I didn’t unhook the drip bags from the top of the stand, to make the job easier. The answer? One of the drips was led through a pump which was fixed to the drip stand. He’d a good laugh at my expense anyhow!

10 Responses to Don’t Laugh!

  1. Bendy Girl says:

    Ah the bendy way of thought, gotta love it! So glad you’re home and healing up, lots love BG x x

  2. Grannymar says:

    Best laugh I have had all day!

    It reminds me of one day last summer, I struggled into my best sexy panties only to discover I had managed to get a leghole round my waist!

  3. Steph says:

    Bendy – Glad you enjoyed it. I actually forgot about my escapades in the bathroom until after I’d left the hospital. I had great difficulty recounting the story to my friends because of the tears of laughter.

    Grannymar – When you get your hip done, you’ll probably be supplied with very sexy side-opening panties. I could have done with a pair of those πŸ˜†

  4. Baino says:

    Haha ROFLMAO . . well when I woke up all wired and such, I didn’t even have any knickers on! I accidentally on purpose removed my drip the next day to have a shower . .I can’t stand bed baths. @GM, I should be so lucky! No way would a leghole fit round my waist!

  5. Pops says:

    Now thats what I call a woman on a mission!
    x

  6. Steph says:

    Baino – The nursing care was almost non-existent. Whenever I made a request for help with anything, the reply was always “I’ll go and ask” and invariably, that was the last I ever heard. If I hadn’t had my hubby at my bedside post-op, I would have suffered big time.

    Pops – You know me, once I get an idea in my head, there’s no stopping me! Missing ya! πŸ˜€

  7. Laura says:

    Thinking of you even though I have AWOL for awhile. X Grannymar and sexy underwear where else would you get it. Love it.

  8. Steph says:

    Laura – Now that’s a lovely surprise! It’s great to hear from you. I do hope things are going well for you?

    I’m sorry for the long silence on blog. Blame the good weather here and Wimbledon.

    My head? It’s getting there, slowly but surely. I’ll try to get a blog post up tomorrow.

    Take good care!

  9. achelois says:

    That post deserves to be published world wide. I know the circumstances were so not funny but your post made me laugh on a non smiley day. I love the cartoon next to it! Wishing you a speedy and pain free recovery.

  10. Steph says:

    achelois – Thank you! You brightened my day as well.

    And don’t worry – I was laughing at myself in the bathroom too πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

