No White Flag

steph's nurse

This is my nurse (thanks Grannymar).

I’m back! Well, sort of… if you know what I mean. I got home from hospital on July 10th on oral antibiotics but it turned out to be a shortlived escape.

Six days later, I was back in A&E with all the old symptoms again. The osteomyelitis has returned in the bones of my skull and the colitis has flared up again too.

There will be no white flag above my bed. I won’t put my hands up and surrender. I’ll let it pass (more anon).

Full credit to Dido (I love this song).

11 Responses to No White Flag

  1. Bendy Girl says:

    Oh Steph, I’m sorry to hear you’re having such a hard time. Big hugs and love! Are you back home still on antibiotics? Has anyone contacted Prof B to get his advice on the EDS’y side of things? I’m sure he’d help
    Feel better soon my lovely
    BG x x x

  2. Steph says:

    Bendy – Thanks 🙂

    No, I’m afraid I’m still in hospital and will be for quite some time. I’m drip-fed antibiotics every 6 hours so no hope of home for a while. And, I’m on three different types of antibiotic just to complicate matters further. I’m not out of the woods quite yet.

    EDS is not considered part of this problem, it’s more related to the recent surgery on my head. The surgeon in UK is overseeing my treatment here in Ireland and is hugely supportive. I’ve a lot to be thankful for really 😀

  3. Grannymar says:

    Good to have you back in the blog world again. Keep Matilda on her toes, and go easy with your wrists on the keyboard.

    Big hugs. Gm

  4. Steph says:

    Grannymar – Matilda won’t leave me alone. She follows me everywhere, the auld drip! 😉

  5. Annb says:

    Hoping you and your drip are not incarcerated together for too much longer. Warmest wishes from the windy west. Take care x x x

  6. Magpie11 says:

    Hi Steph

    Just to say “thinking of you”….. hope the antibiotics do the trick with (I assume) the OM…. have they said what the causal organism is?

    All the best

    David (Magpie 11)

  7. Steph says:

    Ann – Thanks. I’d give anything to be in the windy West right now. Since I last used this laptop, my husband has installed a picture of my favourite beach in Connemara as a screensaver, to remind me of how good life can be!

    Magpie – Much appreciated. They have indeed established the causal organism which has been matched to a specific antibiotic. That was 3 weeks ago when I first came into hospital but I continue to have major set-backs. I deteriorated badly earlier this week and was taken to theatre urgently to have multiple specimens of bone etc. analysed. All have shown the same causal organism so it’s now a matter of pot luck as to which antibiotics to add to the picture. The present combination of 3 seems to be doing the trick. Fingers crossed!

  8. Nancy says:

    Hello Steph,

    I’m sure we all have our fingers crossed for your complete recovery.

    You seem to be getting wonderful,thoughtful care and nothing is more important than that..

    Thanks for keeping us “Up to Date”. We think of you every day and always hope for the best for you.

    Love,

    Nancy

  9. achelois says:

    Sincerest of get well wishes Steph.

  10. Baino says:

    Awww darling you’re so cheerful in the face of adversity I can’t tell you how much I admire your spirit and spunk. At least now that they know what’s causing it, they can have a bash at bloody killing it. Something in the water this July, I’ve heard of so many awful illnesses beleaguring my beloved bloggy community. Big hugs from down under and at least you’re in good hands. Much love
    Helen

  11. Steph says:

    Nancy, Achelois & Baino

    Thank you. I treasure your company. Cheers guys!

Leave a Reply

