Escape

I got out of hospital yesterday between treatments, for a couple of hours at home. Pure heaven! It’s amazing how the simplest pleasures in life really matter when choice is denied. Even the sun shone at the right time.

Thanks to my dear friends Philip (for the lift), Sue (for the catering) and of course, to my dear husband Jaimie for making sure that everything at home was the way I love it the most. I’m not sure who was purring the loudest yesterday – me, Noodle or Doodle (my pusscats)???

Normality does exist, it’s just a matter of getting there and staying there.

11 Responses to Escape

  1. Grannymar says:

    Now behave yourself for a while and they might let you out again!

  2. Jeanie says:

    Yay Steph, glad you had a nice time at home x

  3. Annb says:

    Great to see you getting out even if it is for a short while. I remember Rory’s first outing post transplant – a wonderful hour watching the squirrels in the Botanic gardens. That glimpse of normality is really important when you’ve been institutionalized for so long.

  4. Baino says:

    Awww sweetheart, I’m so glad you get home visits. Bit like being in prison aint it?

  5. Bendy Girl says:

    How lovely to go home even if only for a few hours. Here’s hoping it won’t be too much longer in hospital. After some sleep I shall sort out some lovely beachy photos and put them on my blog for you Steph
    Love, hugs and get well wishes, BG x

  6. Geri Atric says:

    Hi Steph, very glad to hear you have been able to enjoy a brief respite at home, with hubby and the cuddle cats.
    Fingers tightly crossed that you will soon be home for good and completely – and for all time – rid of this stubborn infection!!xx

  7. Steph says:

    Grannymar – I do my best πŸ™„

    Jeanie – I bet you could picture me!

    Ann – Institutionalised is right. I’ve just started reading “The Secret Scripture” and here’s hoping I don’t end up like poor Roseanne (the central character)!

    Baino – I even answer to a number at this stage πŸ˜‰

    Bendy – My silly head has been responding positively to treatment for exactly a week now so I should hear soon how many more weeks of in-patient treatment will be required. I look forward to the photos.

    Geri – This week I’m winning the battle. Toes crossed too please! πŸ˜€

  8. achelois says:

    So Pleased for you Steph – home is definately where the heart is. Sincerely hoping that you will be there full time and crossing my bendy fingers and toes for you.

  9. Steph says:

    achelois – Thanks! πŸ˜€

    I managed to escape again yesterday for a haircut. My kinda therapy!

  10. Sharon says:

    Steph, you’ve really been in the wars. I hope you get more of these precious bits of freedom.

    Take care.

  11. Steph says:

    Sharon – Cheers!

    It has been a bit stop/start recently but at least I get to go back to a reasonably normal life when I’m well. I’ll always be grateful for that πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

