Look on the bright side

I’ve read two newspaper articles in the past week which have totally resonated with me. Life can be a bitch at times. I’m going through a difficult time with my health at the moment. I’ve been in hospital for weeks undergoing treatment following a complex operation on my skull.Β  Following the surgery I developed a complication known as osteomyelitis. In layman’s terms, this is infection of the bone and it’s a bugger to stamp out. I have also developed a fairly severe form of colitis which has complicated the treatment for the osteomyelitis. In order to stay sane, I really need to look on the bright side.

smiley face sticker

Last weekend, I read a case study in one of the Sunday mags about a woman who’d suffered a severe facial injury in a car accident.Β  She says “I began to see that it was an accident, that I couldn’t change it, that I had no control over it but that I could control how I would learn to live with it.”Β  I like her attitude. I can’t change what’s happened to me but I can control how I cope with the conseqences.

On Tuesday, the Irish Times Healthplus supplement featured an article titled “Look on the bright side”. Again, the words jumped off the page at me. “If you’re looking for what’s going to go wrong, you will always find it. If you’re looking for what works, life just gets a lot easier.”

I like this philosophy. It definitely helps to look on the bright side πŸ˜€

11 Responses to Look on the bright side

  1. Bendy Girl says:

    Hi Steph,
    Glad to hear your keeping your pecker up! So to speak!
    Thank goodness you have a laptop & internet access in hospital, that must make it so much easier to cope with?

    I’ll try and get a decent sunset photo in the next few days to give you something else lovely to look at

    Love n hugs BG x x x

  2. Baino says:

    Sweets, you’re such an optimist. Good karma is heading yur way I can feel it in me waters. Ooops . .time to wee!

  3. Grannymar says:

    You keep smiling girl! It uses fewer muscles! πŸ™„

  4. Annb says:

    You are an inspiration! I love the way you laugh in the face of adversity. Keeping everything crossed for a speedy exit home.

  5. Lily says:

    Well done on such a positive attitude! Will you be able to ‘escape’ this weekend?

  6. Jeanie says:

    Good on you Steph. Hope the hospital is working some magic on the infection.
    Lots of love x

  7. Steph says:

    Bendy _ I think I’d have lost it by now if it wasn’t for the laptop. It’s a great way to ‘escape’ for a wee while.

    Baino – Hope you made it in time!

    Grannymar – I often laugh out loud when reading blogs/comments etc and the others must think I’ve ‘lost’ it completely!

    Ann – I’m allowed out home today after my midday drip but must return in time for the teatime one 😦 I’m lucky to get out at all as I’ve a central line into my chest which if I were a heroin user, would be a dream! Thankfully, I’ve been told I don’t look the type to shoot-up πŸ˜€

    Lily – Thank you! πŸ˜€ See comment above.

    Jeanie – The ‘magic’ is indeed working. My case will be reviewed after the weekend and decisions made re further treatment. Fingers crossed!

  8. Mr N says:

    Hi Steph
    Pecker and fingers crossed for an end to the nasty Osteomyletis, in terms of beating the infection to a pulp, in the near future. I suggest adding some G&T to the IV, or even a pint of Murphy’s and some Cheese & Onion Tayto.

  9. achelois says:

    Reading each post and wishing you well. Properly better – at home and re-juvinated. Not sure about the hyphen, there though. oops. Your cup half full philosophy is an inspiration.

  10. Steph says:

    Mr N – Hiya! Your first comment! Now I can’t call you a lurker any more πŸ˜‰

    I’m very familiar with this video. Thanks anyhow.

    achelois – Each and every commenter gives me the strength to keep hammering away at this blog. Thanks a million!

Leave a Reply

