A-Z of being a patient

My good friend, Grannymar has been practising her ABC’s on her blog and set her readers a challenge. She said, “Pick not one word for each letter, but three that sit well together”.

I’ve had fun mulling over this task all day. In keeping with the theme of this blog, ‘a patient’s perspective on life‘, I decided to base the alphabet on my summer spent in hospital. Here’s what I came up with…

A-Z of being a patient

A’s for A&E, antibiotics and analgesia.

B is the bacteria, blood pressure and breathing.

C’s for cellulitis, colitis and complications.

D is the diagnosis, doctor and dietician.

E’s for ENT, ECG and ESR.

F is the flare-up, fluids and fasting.

G’s for gargle, gastric and gut.

H is the hospital, hygiene and hypertension.

I’s for investigations, IV’s and injections.

J is the junior doctors, joints (sore) and jelly (and ice-cream).

K’s for kidneys, ketosis and being kind.

L is the light-headed, laughter and longing.

M’s for microbiology, medication and meals.

N is the nurse, needles and nausea.

O’s for osteomyelitis, oxygen and operation (and ouch!).

P is the pulse, PICC line and pain.

Q’s for questions, queasy and quiet.

R is the respiration, rest and results.

S’s for scans (CT), syringes and samples.

T is the temperature, tachycardia and tired.

U’s for ulcer, uncomfortable and unwell.

V is the veins, vision and vital (signs).

W’s for ward, wheelchair and WC.

X is the x-ray, Xysal (antihistamine) and Xanax (for anxiety).

Y’s for yawning, feeling yucky and YES ( in response to) “ready for home”?

Z is the Zoton (antacid), Zestril (ACE inhibitor) and Zimmer frame (not needed yet).

Please Missus, I did my best. Do I pass the test?

8 Responses to A-Z of being a patient

  1. Baino says:

    “Mulling” all day . .half your luck! Most excellent list althought he only z word I could think of was Zoloft . .hand it over. Hope you’re improving by the day. Sorry, I’ve been very slack with emails but will defo try to catch up this weekend.

  2. Steph says:

    Baino – I’ve been more than a bit slack with communication myself. I finished all antibiotics two weeks ago and have been struggling to find my feet ever since. Two steps forward, one back. Two steps back, one forward… it’s a long haul.

    Your ‘Zoloft’ sounds very similar to ‘Xanax’. I didn’t actually need any this summer but I know to ask for it if feeling anxious about impending surgery or such like. I was actually surprised at how ‘laid-back’ I was in hospital during my last extended visit, it took a lot to phase me. I think this was because I always felt I was in capable hands and had no need to worry but the sleeping pills probably helped as well!

  3. Annb says:

    Continued, Comfortable, Convalescence. Hope you have Treats, TLC, and Telly!
    xx Annb

  4. Steph says:

    Ann – Mmmm! I’ll Try Telling T’others That!

  5. Grannymar says:

    Let Rest Rule your Roost Right now!

    Interesting list.

  6. Steph says:

    Grannymar – Right on! I Really must Remember to Relax! 😀

  7. I’m feeling weak at the knees after reading that list, Steph! I think I might need to go and lie down now to rest, recover and recuperate!

  8. Steph says:

    AV – Thanks for the giggle. I needed it as this week I’m working from home (for my son’s business), doing data entry (online) and it’s a bit monotonous! I love it when a comment pops up and distracts me 😀

Leave a Reply

