Be Aware, Be Active

Did you know that regular physical exercise is important for your breast health? Inactivity is estimated to cause 10-16 percent of breast cancers. Engaging in moderate exercise for at least 30-60 minutes every day can help your future breast health.

breast health day

Breast Health Day on 15 October 2009 aims to raise awareness of the benefits of physical activity on breast health and to encourage women to choose a more active lifestyle.

Europa Donna Ireland (EDI, the Irish Breast Cancer Campaign, is urging women throughout Ireland to do something active to mark the day. Events are taking place around the country and you are invited to come along and join in the fun.

Please see the EDI website for more details.ย ย 

This is an awareness-raising, not a fund-raising day!

Information source and graphic: Europa Donna Ireland and JBBC blog.

8 Responses to Be Aware, Be Active

  1. Grannymar says:

    We all need to be aware, examine and take care.

    Stay healthy.

  2. cathy says:

    Well my goodness, this is the something new I learned today. I have never made a connection to lack of exercise and breast cancer.I did feel like an idiot though a few weeks ago. Since I am a past cancer (not breast)patient I always do my self exams. For the first time ever I felt a lump and it was a bit larger than a pea size. I have done these exams for years and never had that happen. I checked everyday for 3-4 days and yep it was still there. I call the Doc. and explain and they schedule me for a diagnostic breast mammogram at the hosp. Honest to God, the morning of my exam, I could feel no lump. the Woman doing my exam and test at hosp. could also feel no lump. My tests were fine. I still have no idea what that was all about but it was there and then gone. thank goodness, but you know it makes you feel (and look) like a fool.

  3. JBBC says:

    Thanks Steph for your support on this ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Annb says:

    Will do Steph, I’m off to race into college!!
    Great to see you with the pep back in your step!

  5. Steph says:

    Grannymar – We owe it to ourselves to maintain breast health awareness throughout the year and not just when reminded.

    Cathy – Hello again! Don’t worry about it, you did all the right things in seeking help when you did. Think of it this way…If your result had come back abnormal, you’d have been damn glad you took action. Doctors would much rather see someone with a ‘normal’ result than one who delayed seeking help and is now paying the price.

    JBBC – It’s a pleasure to support the fine work that you do on behalf of all women with breast cancer.

    I think you’ll find that Cathy would have great difficulty making it to St. Stephen’s Green in time for tomorrow’s walk ๐Ÿ˜‰ Your kind offer of online support, would make more sense.

    Annb – Thanks! I’m not sure about the “pep in my step” but I sure have “glide in my stride” ๐Ÿ˜€

  6. JBBC says:

    Thanks Steph – I wasn’t sure which Cathy this might be – as I know there is another Dublin based Cathy who is a blogger and on the off chance it was her I thought i’d extend the offer – which of course is extended to all your lovely readers ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Baino says:

    Oh bugger . . so sitting in front of a Mac with a bottle of Semillon Chardonnay isn’t good for my bosoms! Pish . . why is everything I love, immoral, illegal or fattening! I walk 50 metres to the washing line six times a day on a Saturday, does that count?

Leave a Reply

