Blips of the Heart

If I were to tell you the number of general anaesthetics I’ve had over the years, I’d be afraid you might pass out. In the last 5 years alone, I reckon I’ve had about 20 hours of surgery under general anaesthetic. People often ask me how I remain in such good form. This could have something to do with being full of gas! πŸ™„

I’ve come face to face with many anaesthetists and I can honestly say that I’ve never met one that I didn’t trust with my life.

Special thanks to the comedy duo the Amateur Transplants.

12 Responses to Blips of the Heart

  1. Grannymar says:

    I wonder if you told good stories while you were in dreamland? πŸ™„

  2. Steph says:

    Grannymar – I’d rather not think about that prospect πŸ˜€

    There was a day when anaesthetists used to visit their patients on the ward at the end of the day’s surgery but those days seem to be largely gone. In fact, things happen so fast in hospital these days, the anaesthetists very often don’t get to talk to their patients until minutes before putting them under anaesthetic.

    I have no fear of undergoing general anaesthetic but I know many people do so the anaesthetist’s role is a very important part of the equation.

    I sometimes find myself saying to the anaesthetist when they start the reassuring talk in theatre, “Yeah, yeah, it’s okay, I’m a regular at this game!”

  3. Nancy says:

    You are very brave,Steph. They put me to “Sleep” once and I had a banging headache for days. In fact, the headache was worse that the problem I was put to “sleep” for.

    Believe it or not the anaesthetist’s name was Dr, Bayer. Do you think my headache had anything to do with his family’s business?

    Cousin Nancy

  4. Steph says:

    Cousin Nancy – Hiya! Wouldn’t it be hilarious if we were actually related. Who cares anyway, I’m more than happy to adopt you but hang on a minute! Does that mean I might be related to HERSELF as well? πŸ™„

    On the subject of anaesthetics, things have changed for the better over the years and the medics now have all sorts of magic potions to lessen the side-effects of an anaesthetic. If you do wake in discomfort in the recovery room, you only have to mumble “pain” and they top you up with more morphine which quickly sends you back into ‘la la’ land!

    As regards names, I’d be definitely worried if I was wheeled into theatre and the anaesthetist was introduced as ‘Dr. P Brain’ πŸ˜€

  5. Geri Atric says:

    Thank goodness for modern day anaesthetists! Can you imagine what it must have felt like in the ‘olden days’ when all that was between you and unconciousness was a cloth cap over your nose and the dripping chloroform? And even before that, in the even ‘oldener days’, when all they could administer was a bottle of whiskey and a piece of wood to bite down on? Aarrgghh! I repeat – thank goodness for todays anaesthetists!

  6. Steph says:

    Geri – Hello old friend from the olden days πŸ˜‰

    You’re absolutely right. I’ve been told several times that I wouldn’t be here except for modern medicine. I couldn’t imagine going through surgery on my kitchen table… aarrgghh! We have a lot to be thankful for.

  7. Baino says:

    Great song. I think I’ll nick it and share. I often wondered what they did! Actually I haven’t had many general anaesthetics but whatever my anaesthetist did for me after my hysterectomy (internal pain killers etc.) worked like a charm. I literally had no pain at all. Never took more than a panadol for three days.

  8. achelois says:

    Last time I had a general I woke up and itched so much I couldn’t believe it. My mother had her tonsils out on the kitchen table!! I think you have had more than your fair share of ill health. Is it awful to say apart from the itching I wouldn’t mind a general every night the thought of waking up without a pain would be a dream come true.

  9. Annb says:

    That’s hilarious – we’ve just spent the wk. end being regaled by the other kidney’s transplant anesthetic stories – he’s weird because he loves nothing more than a good GA! Should I be concerned?
    Maybe you should give the lads in the Guinness book of Records a shout – you could be the anesthetic record holder. You could get T-shirts printed!

  10. LOL, I love the song! I feel totally enlightened now about what anaethetists really do! πŸ˜‰ My famous last words to anaethetists are always the same, “yeah, okay, it’s working, I’m feeling woozzzzz…”

  11. Steph says:

    Baino – I love the song too. The Amateur Transplants are two London based medical professionals with a repertoire of funny songs available on You Tube.

    I think you must have a very high pain threshold to get through a post-op ‘hyster’ on panadol. From what I remember (it’s 15 years ago), I had a morphine pump for 24 hours and spent 9 days in hospital post-op. Having said that, I recovered very quickly once home and was back driving and swimming at 4 weeks post-op.

    achelois – The only time I can remember itching post-op like that was when I had surgery with a spinal epidural. I didn’t sleep a wink that night because of the dreadful all-over itch and the following day, my doc said the itching was a definite side-effect of an epidural. I guess you must have been allergic to some component in the general? I don’t envy your Mum’s experience!!!

    AV – Glad you enjoyed it. Let’s hope neither of us need another one soon! I’ll pop over to your place shortly to see what you’ve been up to. Hope all going well with your novel.

  12. Steph says:

    Ann – My apologies, I missed you out.

    I can’t say I enjoy having an anaesthetic but I’ve certainly no fear of them. Could it be the case that the other kidney revels in being the centre of attention??? Or maybe he just needs more l-u-r-v-e πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

