Your health is…

I should have known better. Last week, I bragged about how many anaesthetics I’ve had. Yesterday, I got told I need another one.

I was reviewed at the hospital as I’ve been in trouble with headaches again. My sense of smell and taste has also gradually changed. On endoscopic examination of my head, the surgeon identified a new area of inflamed bone (osteitis) just above the bridge of my nose. Osteitis can be a precursor of osteomyelitis so prompt action is required to prevent further deterioration of the bone. I’ve been booked in for day surgery under general anaesthetic.

I should be having my surgery next Tuesday but unfortunately that’s the day when a national strike is planned. The protest will see most health, education, civil service and local authority services withdrawn for 24 hours. Hospital appointments and non-emergency surgery will be cancelled that day and many patients will suffer the consequences. It seems that wealth has become more important than health.

12 Responses to Your health is…

  1. Lily says:

    So sorry to hear that, what a nuisance when you were doing well. And then you hitting the pubic service strike.

    Health is the only wealth we need. Wishing you an abundance of health.

  2. Ian says:

    The strike will, of course, hit the most vulnerable, as all strikes do. I wonder how many of the private clinics have cancelled surgery?

    Despite there being a teachers’ strike, I know our daughter’s private school is proceeding as normal.

  3. Annb says:

    I’m so sorry to hear this Steph. It’s bad enough to have surgery looming but to have it upset by a strike seems doubly cruel. Do you have another date yet? Sending you warm wishes and hugs.

  4. Steph says:

    Lily – Thanks, I was a bit taken aback by yesterday’s news and the strike didn’t make the situation any easier to digest. But then, it’s great to have this outlet in which to air my woes.

    Ian – I fail to see the sense of the protest. This country is broke, plain and simple. What will striking achieve other than chaos in the public services? There’s no leadership in this country at the moment. If we want to get out of the mess we’ve been landed in, we need to learn to row together.

    Ann – Thanks! The strike will delay my surgery by a week. The surgeon was good enough to apologise for a situation that is beyond his control. Next Tuesday, operating theatres around the country, will lie empty while patients are left to continue to suffer. I’ve been instructed to report to casualty if my head deteriorates. You have to wonder at how many lives will be put at risk by this work stoppage!

  5. Grannymar says:

    My sympathy is not much comfort when you are in pain. Do report to casualty if things get worse and don’t hang on longer than necessary.

  6. Steph says:

    Grannymar – I hear you loud and clear! 😉 No sympathy needed, thanks. I’m not in serious pain but the infection poses a significant risk due to it’s location. It’s very difficult to stamp out infection in bone so the quicker it’s dealt with, the better.

  7. Geri Atric says:

    Oh Steph, so sorry to hear of this latest set back, but fortunately no time has been wasted in a diagnosis and (as Grannymar has already suggested) if the pain increases (or even if it doesn’t!) take yourself off to casualty – and national strike be blowed! (No nose pun intended).

  8. Steph says:

    Geri – I couldn’t quite believe what I was hearing when the surgeon told me I had to come into hospital again. The look I got in response when I asked if an anaesthetic was necessary, was enough to tell me that I’ll be very glad of it when the time comes!

    You needn’t worry, I’m in very good hands. The docs know my history well at this stage and always see me urgently whenever I’m in trouble. My only concern is that IV antibiotics may be called for after the surgery, in which case I won’t have any choice but to stay in the hospital. Fingers crossed please!

  9. achelois says:

    Oh Steph I am so sorry to hear this. I am going to have to re-read parts of your blog to understand what started all this off in the first place as my brain has gone to mush. I am sorry about the strike. I hope whenever you get the procedure done it is without complication & will keep my bendy fingers crossed to that effect. The only time I had anything that sounds at all similar was an infection in the bone behind my ear or that space inside the bone behind my ear I never really understood it. But I do know it made me ill. So you have my complete sympathy as you go through so much with this. My thoughts are with you. Best Wishes.

  10. Nancy says:

    Dear Steph,

    I am so sorry to hear your latest news and also sorry about the strike which will put you off for a week.

    Next Thursday will be Thanksgiving Day here in America and a whole lot of praying goes on in almost every home. We thank God for all of our blessings and we ask Him to watch over us and our friends.

    I will ask my family to say a prayer for you to have a successful operation and a complete recovery from your problem.

    Love from your cousin,

    Nancy

  11. Steph says:

    achelois – Thanks for your good wishes.

    I’m not in the least surprised you can’t understand what’s going on. I lose track myself sometimes as this problem has gone on for so long.

    In a nutshell, I’ve had chronic sinus infections all my life despite treatment with antibiotics and surgery. With my tendency to develop abnormal scar tissue (EDS), I’m prone to developing chronic osteomyelitis (infection in bone).

    What you describe sounds very like mastoiditis (infection in the bone behind the ear) which can result from chronic ear infections so it has similarities to my situation.

    Cousin Nancy – Thank you, I’m honoured.

    Until my head has been fully examined under anaesthetic, I don’t know how significant this latest set-back will turn out to be. My ‘date’ in the hospital has now been confirmed in writing so I hope to be able to bring you better news soon.

  12. […] the most vulnerable in society into a dispute with government over their terms and conditions. As my own health has been put at risk by this dispute, I have good reason to […]

Leave a Reply

