Coffee anyone?

Drinking a cup of real coffee is one of life’s small pleasures. Caffeine is the world’s most widely used stimulant drug and coffee is the form in which millions of people prefer to take it. It improves short-term memory, raises alertness and it tastes delicious. I love coffee. In truth, I crave the smell, the taste and the ritual of brewing it. I’m not a coffee snob but I know what I like. I’d be lost without my morning cuppa.

coffee fix

Caffeine is absorbed and distributed throughout the body very quickly. After absorption, it passes into the brain where it acts as a central nervous system stimulant. As it has diuretic properties, caffeine is not accumulated or stored in the body, but is excreted in the urine some hours after it has been consumed.

Contrary to popular belief, caffeine does not not reduce the effects of alcohol, so a cup of coffee will not “sober up” someone who is drunk. Caffeine may be used as a treatment for migraine and will, for short time spans, relieve fatigue or drowsiness.

However, excessive caffeine intake can lead to a fast heart rate, increased urination, nausea, vomiting, restlessness, anxiety, depression, tremors and difficulty sleeping.

Abrupt withdrawal of caffeine may cause headaches, drowsiness, irritability, nausea, vomiting and other symptoms. Reduce caffeine intake gradually to prevent any symptoms of withdrawal.

The body has no nutritional requirement for caffeine. However, a moderate tea or coffee intake is not likely to have a negative effect on health, as long as the person lives an otherwise healthy lifestyle.

While three 8oz cups of coffee per day would be considered a moderate intake of caffeine, ten 8oz cups per day would be considered excessive.

Information source: Irish Times HEALTHplus

These days, I restrict my intake of coffee to 2-3 mugs per day. When I temporarily lost my sense of smell and taste last summer, I gave up drinking coffee as it held no pleasure. Interestingly, I found this loss much more difficult to accept than the loss of being able to enjoy food. I know, I’m hooked! It was like manna from heaven to discover I could smell and taste coffee again. Life just ain’t the same without coffee!

8 Responses to Coffee anyone?

  1. Rummuser says:

    My choice of the pick me up is the good old Indian Chai of either the masala variety or the ginger one. I tend to have about three per day. On some days, I am too lazy to make the brew and so opt for a cup of instant coffee. My limit for that day. I do not drink and so, do not have hangovers!

  2. Steph says:

    Rummuser – Hello and welcome!

    When I came home from hospital last summer, a friend (who visits India regularly) gave me a ‘pick me up’ present of Spices Chai Black Tea. As I couldn’t taste anything at the time, I didn’t try it and to my shame, I’d forgotten all about it since.

    On reading the instructions now, I see it says, “The sheer pleasure of this tea experience engulfs the drinker and transcends him into a world of happiness”

    That sounds just like my coffee experience 😀

    btw Instant coffee doesn’t do it for me, it has to be the real thing!

    p.s. The bulls eyes are mine! 😉

  3. Annb says:

    That was the worst form of torture in Crumlin hospital: no decent coffee. After about 6 months, I discovered an O’Briens Sandwich outlet in the Texaco service station down the road. It soon became the highlight of the day to walk down there for a frothy latte, I’m not exaggerating when I say it was a life saver!

  4. Steph says:

    Ann – I would be the EXACT same. I would rather have nothing at all than drink a cup of stewed coffee. I remember during my days ‘on duty’ in Temple St, I used to plan my ‘off time’ around where I could get a decent brew.

    When I’m unwell myself, I completely go off coffee so I don’t really miss it when in hospital. It’s always a good sign when my longing for coffee returns.

  5. Grannymar says:

    I have been out most of the day and missed all the freshly brewed coffee going on here. I love my coffee, but try to have it as a treat and mix my drinks during the day….. Juices and plenty of freshly boiled water.

  6. Steph says:

    Grannymar – I made up a brew of Indian Chai this afternoon in honour of Rummuser’s visit and I have to admit, it was very refreshing.

    I drink tea when in need of rehydration and I drink coffee when I need a lift! I admire your ability to be able to resist coffee and choose a healthier option.

  7. Baino says:

    I can never make coffee as nicely as a good barista so I restrict my intake to one flat white at elevenses . . yum. Although I’ve just come back from a weekend in Melbourne and did put a hole in a number of beautiful brews! I’m so tired I might need three or four to get me through the day today!

  8. Steph says:

    Baino – Cheers! Hope you had a blast in Melbourne. A woman’s gotta do what a woman’s gotta do!

Leave a Reply

