Floating Away

There are few things in life which really bring out the ‘wow’ factor but floating along thousands of feet up in the sky in a hot air balloon, is one such experience. Hot air ballooning is extremely safe and provided that you are in reasonably good health, it is an activity suitable for all ages. It’s an experience of a lifetime that should not be missed.

I went on my first ever balloon flight last September and it was really magical. Peaceful yet exhilarating, it was like taking a magic carpet ride, floating silently over the countryside, as the people, livestock and the wildlife below went about their everyday lives. One of the great joys of ballooning is it’s tranquillity, as you float with the breeze, feeling absolutely no sensation of movement. The incredible feeling of time suspended as the world drifts quietly below, is one you’ll never forget.

We floated over rivers

river

forests

trees

farmland

fields

and landed safely to enjoy a champagne toast.

champagne toast

Cheers!

As I float away under general anaesthetic tomorrow, I shall pretend I’m on another magic carpet ride. Fingers crossed for a smooth landing please!

11 Responses to Floating Away

  1. Annb says:

    Safe floating Steph, wishing you sunny skies, gentle breezes, cosy companions and the odd toyboy doc or two to help you on your way 🙂
    Keeping it all crossed here for a spectacularly, successfully safe landing.
    Huge hugs

  2. Grannymar says:

    Steph, you will be very much in my thoughts tomorrow. Sweet dreams and a smooth landing.

  3. achelois says:

    Steph hoping today your magic carpet ride has made you better. You are in my thoughts.

  4. Jeanie says:

    Thinking of you Steph and hoping all is well
    Much love xx

  5. Steph says:

    Thanks folks!

    Just leaving for hospital now. I’ll be back!

  6. Baino says:

    Looks gorgeous. Clare’s wanted to do it for ages and we occasionally get a hot air balloon either drifting very close overhead or once landing in our back paddock! I’m not sure I’d like it though. Flying in a plane is enough to give me the willies. So happy that you enjoyed it. I keep saying “I hope you’re on the mend” I mean it really I do but you’re in hospital so often poor thing. I wish I had something more constructive to say. Fingers crossed for you this time sweets.

  7. Ian says:

    Prayers for no turbulence.

  8. Bendy Girl says:

    Just catching up so I expect you’ll be in theatre round about now. Sending lots of love and healing thoughts Steph, fingers firmly crossed for a successful outcome. Lots of love BG Xx

  9. Rummuser says:

    My prayers and best wishes to you. Look forward to seeing you up and blogging soon.

  10. Nancy says:

    You will be in my thoughts,Steph. I wish the very best outcome for you and hope you will be on another magic carpet ride soon.

    Love and prayers go with this message.

  11. Steph says:

    Thanks all.

    Your love, hugs, thoughts and prayers from around the world, worked their magic yesterday. I’m home and while a bit upside-down and back-to-front today, I’ll definitely live to fight another day.

    Back to full service shortly.

    Steph xxx

Leave a Reply

