The Gift of Life

The Gift of Life is a brand new three part TV3 series which follows the stories of 14 people who are awaiting transplants in Ireland. It’s an extraordinary behind the scenes look at the lives of transplant patients in Ireland today. The series follows the dedicated medical teams in the transplant centres in Beaumont, St Vincent’s and the Mater Hospitals.

In the first episode tonight, we meet four people in need of a transplant:- Josephine McQuaid who is waiting for a heart transplant, Sarah-Jane Mitten needs a new liver and Aidan Mulligan and Darren Cawley are each waiting for a new kidney. This series follows these people over a period of months as they deal with their illness and the prospect of a transplant.

The Gift of Life starts tonight @10pm on TV3.

10 Responses to The Gift of Life

  1. Annb says:

    Will obviously be tuning in to this tonight! Thanks for letting me know

  2. Lily says:

    A good friend of mine was asked about participating in this programme, but was too sick at the time to consider it. She had her transpant just before Christmas and thankfully is making a great recovery.

  3. Steph says:

    Ann – I’m delighted I saw it advertised in time to get it up on the blog this morning. I hope you enjoy the programme shortly. I wish you and Boy Wonder could have been included in it because you have a fantastic tale to tell. One day!

    Lily – You really bring the subject of organ transplant alive with that story. I’m so glad to hear that it had a happy outcome. I hope both you and your friend, get a chance to view the series over the next three weeks.

  4. Lily says:

    Steph, watched the programme last night and thought it was very well done. Gave a very interesting insight into organ transplant

  5. Annb says:

    It was a very true picture of the experience – quite weird to see all the familiar faces and places. Hopefully it will boost donor card up take and generally raise awareness. Thanks again for letting me know.

  6. Steph says:

    Lily – Delighted to hear you got to see it. It was very moving wasn’t it? I thought it was a very well-balanced programme and succeeded in portraying transplant recipients in a very favourable light.

    Ann – I thought of you and your dear family throughout the programme. I imagine it must have re-awakened many old memories, to watch others facing the same emotional upheaval in their lives. They sure packed a lot into that one programme. I wonder what the next two episodes will bring?

  7. magnumlady says:

    I think everyone should carry a donor card. I have had mine since I was 18, although my mother disapproved. She changed her mind when my dad ended up on dialysis, it was too late for him to have a transplant, but there are many other people that need them.

  8. Steph says:

    magnumlady – I feel sure many more people will consider carrying donor cards having watched this TV series as it’s really touches the heart strings. If you didn’t get to see it the other night, I can highly recommend it! Two more programmes to go.

  9. Alexleej says:

    Hi Steph,

    I am so sorry to hear how things are going. Sorry I haven’t been in contact but I thought that I would update you on what is happening with me and hopefully together we can find a solution to this problem. I have been battling with MSSA, Strep and suspected Pseudomonas since I last wrote to you and obviously will have to have the bone graft and titanium plate removed. I am booked into hospital to have the top of my septum removed on 8th Feb as the drainage hole closed up (again!!!). I so hope this works and on the basis that it does will go in for reconstruction of the forhead again only this time I am staying on my latest cocktail of Rifampicin and Ciprofloxacin all the way through as the little bug-gers might be hiding in the mesh and dead bone. I will have the whole lot replaced with Titanium mesh around 6 weeks post this and have informed the doc’s that I want to be dancing in Ibiza this summer. I am absolutely determined this will work and have asked them to wash out the defect with antibiotics during the operation too just to make sure. I will keep you informed – all the best and KOKO – Keep On Keeping On – a line stolen from my wonderful friends at the epidermoid brain tumor group.

  10. steph says:

    Alex – Good to hear from you again although I’m really sorry to hear that you are still battling the bug-gers!

    As part of the last operation I had in Notts, the top of my septum was removed by endoscopic surgery and it greatly improved my airway. The link I previously sent you on ‘Current Opinions on the Surgical Management of Frontal Sinus Disease’ gives details of this type of surgery. It’s known as a modified Lothrop procedure (Draf 111) also known as a ‘frontal drill-out’. The Draf 111 seems to be the best option for revision surgery. Fingers crossed it works for you.

    Infection (MSSA) has recurred in my forehead, in the bone around the orbit of my right eye (near what once was, the frontal recess). As you know, I was originally offered re-constructive surgery for the indent in my forehead but I won’t be going there unless it becomes medically necessary. Your difficulties confirm that it’s riddled with potential problems.

    I wish you the very best with your forthcoming series of operations. I’ll be in Notts on Feb 8th and will think of you going through the hoops. I really admire your determination to beat the bug-gers at their game!

    KOKO
    Steph

Leave a Reply

