Is this a great country or what?

I phoned the insurance company this morning, as instructed, for news on my application for ‘prior approval’ for surgery.

The lady in customer services checked my file on the computer, and said… “We need 5 working days to process your application.”

I replied that the application was submitted by fax last Wednesday morning (marked URGENT) and that this was now Day 5.

I was asked to hold the line.

After a long wait while she contacted the claims department, I was told… “Sorry, there’s no update on your application.”

I, again, explained that the surgery is due to take place this Friday, that the surgeon is booked, the hospital bed is booked, the flights are booked, the hotel is booked and that I’m due to travel to Nottingham in less than 48 hours time!

A long silence ensued.

Finally, the reply came… “You could try phoning again, this afternoon.”

“When you need us, we’re there”  Grrrrrr!

With thanks to Grannymar for keeping me smiling…

SENIOR HEALTH CARE SOLUTION

So you’re a senior citizen and the government says no health care or pension for you, what do you do?

Our plan gives anyone 65 years or older a gun and 4 bullets. You are allowed to shoot 2 MPs and 2 Senior Government Officials.

Of course, this means you will be sent to prison where you will get 3 meals a day, a roof over your head, and all the health care you need! New teeth, no problem. Need glasses, great. New hip, knees, kidney, lungs, heart? All covered.

And who will be paying for all of this? The same government that just told you that you are too old for health care. Plus, because you are a prisoner, you don’t have to pay any income taxes anymore.

IS THIS A GREAT COUNTRY OR WHAT?!

7 Responses to Is this a great country or what?

  1. Bendy Girl says:

    Steph, could I put this on twitter to see if it helps? Usually big companies respond very quickly to criticisms on there
    BG Xx

  2. Steph says:

    Bendy – Thanks but, no thanks!

    I’m trying another route of attack at the moment. Thanks for the offer anyhow.

  3. Bendy Girl says:

    Fingers crossed for you Steph x

  4. Steph says:

    BG – Thanks a million! 😀

  5. Grannymar says:

    Glad it made you smile!

  6. Lily says:

    Quoting from the Advertising Standards Authority for Ireland website homepage

    The Essence of Good Advertising:
    All marketing communications should be legal, decent, honest and truthful.

    All marketing communications should be prepared with a sense of responsibility both to the consumer and to society.

    VHI’s slogan “When you need us, we’re there” an example of ‘good advertising’??

    However delighted you have got the go-ahead, excuse the pun. Really hope they sort things out for you 🙂

  7. Steph says:

    Grannymar – You and Maxine always make me laugh 😉

    Lily – That slogan irritates me every time I hear it. However I beat them at their own game today.

    My referring surgeon never actually filled out their detailed questionnaire on this occasion. He refused to do so on principle and instead wrote a letter pointing out that the insurer has no right to refuse revision surgery when they fully sanctioned the original surgery. I asked his secretary to ring them today requesting an answer to his letter and within an hour, my funding had been granted. The funding covers medical expenses only. As expected, there is no cover for travel or other non-medical expenses incurred.

    I rest my case 😐

Leave a Reply

