An anaesthetic blunder

When I came round in the recovery room last Friday, I enquired what the time was and was surprised to learn that I’d been under anaesthetic for 3 hours. It was only when I was whisked back to my room 30 minutes later that I realised my vision was temporarily blurred. My long-suffering husband arrived shortly afterwards to spend the afternoon at my bedside while I slept off the effects of the anaesthetic.

Before my husband left that evening, I asked him to turn on the television, to BBC2 so that I could follow a Six Nations rugby match. My vision was still too blurred to watch the television but I reckoned I’d enjoy the match by listening to it. Blow me if the television didn’t have every channel except BBC2 available. I told my husband not to worry and he turned off the set before leaving.

Shortly afterwards, the night nurses arrived on duty and the new night sister appeared in my room along with the day sister who I’d met earlier in the day. When they enquired if everything was okay, I responded that I was fine but that I was disappointed not to be able to follow the rugby match on my telly.

I’d no sooner said this when the night sister turned on her heels and disappeared out of the room. She struggled back into my room moments later, carrying a large television set from an adjacent room and soon had it plugged in with BBC2 working perfectly. We all laughed together about how they were looking after my every need and I thanked them profusely before they left to carry on with their ward round. I settled down to enjoy the match.

I waited and waited but there was no sign of any rugby happening on BBC2. Irritated, I flicked the channels using the remote control and to my surprise and acute embarrassment, I discovered that the rugby was actually being shown on BBC1. Oops!

I blame the anaesthetic. Luckily, I didn’t see the night sister again!

10 Responses to An anaesthetic blunder

  1. magnumlady says:

    Sounds like you were looked after very well πŸ™‚

  2. Steph says:

    magnumlady – It was very nice to be able to enjoy a 1-night stay in comfort. From a medical point of view, I’d much rather be in a large teaching hospital where I know the real expertise lies. However, as I was only having minor surgery on this occasion, I was happy to be pampered. You certainly wouldn’t get anyone in the NHS, to help with your television viewing!

  3. Magpie11 says:

    Hi Steph,

    I’m afraid I didn’t enjoy the rugby last weekend…

    It’s good to know that there are nurses around who have the time to nurse. From a family of nurses, I feel really sorry for modern day NHS nurses. Paperwork paperwork plasterwork and 50% of time spent on computers and understaffed (underpaid too).
    I put it all down to Thatcherism,,,the demise of caring conservatism and the rise of corporatism.

    There is no reason for people to be proud of their institution…There used to be a belief in “Our Hospital”..

    Rant over!

    Hope you’re okay.

  4. Steph says:

    Magpie – Sorry about that but then I have always declared that I write from an Irish patient’s perspective! I’m doing fine thanks.

    On our way to the airport after the match, I received a text from a dear friend who happens to be English. In it, he said “Steph, how could you do that to us and at Twickers too”! It did make me smile.

    I couldn’t agree more with your rant. Cutbacks in health spending here have ensured that Irish teaching hospitals are fast going the way of the NHS. Hospital care has now become a conveyor belt service and I feel sorry for both the patients and the staff involved.

    The difference between the nursing care received in a private hospital and a public (NHS) hospital, is a disgrace. In my opinion, private hospital care is too over-the-top whereas nursing care in the public system, has been hugely depleted. Surely everyone deserves to be properly cared for when they are sick?

    Okay, rant over πŸ˜€

  5. Annb says:

    I love the way no one questioned your assertion that the rugby was on BBC 2 – you obviously speak with great authority, even when anaesthetized. Steph for president I say!

  6. Steph says:

    Ann – πŸ˜† Nobody argues with Steph and especially not when I’ve had an anaesthetic! Just ask my husband πŸ˜†

    I did feel like a right idiot though when I discovered my mistake πŸ™„

  7. Geri Atric says:

    First you have your nose gauged and drilled and practically turned inside out and then, still reeling and blurry eyed, comandeer a large t.v. set and proceed to cheer your national rugby team to victory(!)
    You are one tough lady Steph! And a great sport yourself.
    Take care.

  8. Steph says:

    Geri – When the going gets tough, the tough get going!

    I think many people who face adversity, develop a determination to succeed against the odds. Call it pig-headed, call it what you like but it’s my way of triumphing when the chips are down.

  9. Baino says:

    Best course of action was to stay schtumm! Haha .. I can’t stand the Rugby! I’d need an anaesthetic to get through a whole game . .

  10. Steph says:

    Baino – I was brought up in a household of rugby players and I reacted by refusing to have anything to do with the sport for many years.

    However, living in a small country like Ireland which has a limited pool of players from which the top teams are selected, the players soon become household names. Last year, the Irish team were deserving winners of the highest accolade in northern hemisphere rugby winning the Grand Slam, the Championship and Triple Crown. Not bad for a population of less than 5 million!

Leave a Reply

