24 Little Hours

I was feeling a little sorry for myself yesterday when an email arrived from a blogging friend. Her supportive email was just the tonic needed. You see, this friend knows only too well what it’s like to deal with a long term illness. It felt so good to be understood.

Today, I received a text message from another dear friend who lives locally and it really made me stop and think.

Her text message read…“Hi, just to say thanks. I’ve seen and learned so much from you about managing your health responsibly and with a cool mind. From what I’ve observed over the years, I always knew that you had courage and now I’m experiencing how vital that is!

This old friend of mine has recently been diagnosed with a nasty autoimmune syndrome and is slowly coming to terms with the fact that she now has to learn how to live with a long term illness. I’ve been so tied up with my own woes of late that I’m guilty of not giving her the level of support she needs and deserves. I suspected from the nature of her text that she must have been reading my blog on the quiet as I rarely dwell on my health problems in ‘real’ life. When I enquired if this was the case, to my surprise she replied “not yet but I will.”

I’m aware from the supportive comments received on this blog from people I’ve never met that I give the impression of being ‘level headed’ when it comes to dealing with illness. I think this is because the blog gives me free rein to talk about coping with illness in a way that is rarely facilitated elsewhere. I’ve often wondered how my coping strategies are perceived by people who I meet in everyday life. Β I would hate to think I was known as a moaning minnie.

I’m now mightily relieved. What a difference a day makes!

10 Responses to 24 Little Hours

  1. Grannymar says:

    I met you through the blog before we met in real life. When we are together we spend most of the time laughing. May it long continue!

  2. Bendy Girl says:

    I totally understand this post-glad to hear you’re feeling better. BG Xx

  3. magnumlady says:

    Aww bless you. Keep smiling xx

  4. Steph says:

    Grannymar – Thanks! You’re a guaranteed tonic πŸ˜€

    It’s high time we met up for another session of laughter. It’s the best medicine there is!

    Bendy – I’m not really sure what I was trying to say in this post but I feel better for saying it πŸ™„

    I think I was concerned that I’d created a different persona on the blog to how I actually appear to others in ‘real’ life. The text from the friend who I’ve known for many years and who’s never read my blog, provided the reassurance I needed.

    magnumlady – Thanks for your support. I’m a bit all over the place at the moment as my head is still giving me a hard time and I so want a break. I’m sure you know the feeling well!

  5. Annb says:

    Glad you’re feeling better Steph and for what it’s worth the words Moaning Minne and Steph could never even appear in the same sentence! You’re spirit is an inspiration. Hope you get that break you so deserve very soon!

  6. Steph says:

    Annb – I’m not sure my husband would agree with you about the moaning. He does put up with an awful lot!

    But I do agree about deserving a break. In the meantime, I live in hope πŸ˜€

  7. Baino says:

    You are definitely not a moaning meanie. If I had to put up with the things you’ve had to deal with over the last three years (yep, been around for three years) I’d have slit my wrists by now. Plus you’re informative and explain things I didn’t know about or understand before. I miss chatting with you tho! I hope things are looking up for you Steph, I really do.

  8. Steph says:

    Baino – Cheers! Sorry for being so out of touch. My recovery from the last operation has not gone as smoothly as anticipated so I’ve been lying low while awaiting better news.

    I’m heading back into the hospital tomorrow morning for another session ‘in the chair’ before travelling over to Notts next week for the real post-op check-up. Fingers crossed this will mark the end of my trips to the UK for treatment!

  9. Jenny says:

    you are level headed but in a totally empathetic and kind way, your blogs seem to combine heartfelt honesty and life experience with an inteligence and sesibility that astounds me.
    you are the first and only blog i have ever followed and i have to say was quite worried to not see you posting more blogs, delighted to see you back on my screen and hopefully i wont have to wait too long for more of your brilliance!

  10. Steph says:

    Jenny – Thank you. You have me spoilt πŸ˜‰

    If you know anyone who’s looking to employ someone with a good reference, I’m available!

    Have a look at the BLOGS I ENJOY list on the sidebar of this blog and you’ll find plenty of good reading.

    I hope to get another blog post up today to keep everyone happy πŸ™„

Leave a Reply

