Did You Know?

Chocolate is a great economy booster.

An average person will consume 10,000 chocolate bars in a lifetime.

The melting point of cocoa butter is just below the human body temperature – which is why it literally melts in your mouth.

The reason chocolate tastes so delicious is not only due to it’s silky texture, sweet smell, rich flavour and ideal melting temperature. It is also (arguably) good for you.

So next time you’re sitting there sucking a beautifully melting square in your mouth, just think… the flavanols in it enhance your brain power, the antioxidants reduce free radicals, helping to prevent cancer, heart disease and stroke. The sugar is giving you energy and finally the pheromones will make you more attractive.

That’s what I told myself anyhow while eating a tasty new dessert.

But remember, everything in moderation!

8 Responses to Did You Know?

  1. Annb says:

    Oh my! Oh my! – I can see now than any hopes of dieting are doomed! I am a huge fan of their soups and I just discovered their hot pots last week – I can only imagine how divine those desserts will be. I don’t know whether to thank you or curse you for this tasty piece of information!!!

  2. Steph says:

    Annb – Always at your service, Ma’am 😀

    Any excuse to eat chocolate, is fine with me!

  3. Geri Atric says:

    Umm! Oh Steph, you’ve got me all slobbering and craving now! Luckily there are still a few squares left from a large bar I bought last friday.
    Raw cocao though – as seen on a documentary – is actually quite horrible. I suspect that it is only the added sugar that makes it taste so nice?

  4. Steph says:

    Geri – I can do without lots of things in life but chocolate and coffee are a MUST HAVE!

    While it seems that most things that taste nice, are bad for us… the key to it is everything in moderation!

  5. Grannymar says:

    Everything in moderation was my mother’s chant, I don’t mind so long as nobody moderates me! I want my dark chocolate in peace!

  6. Steph says:

    Grannymar – Mothers know best! I wouldn’t dare get between you and your dark choccie 😉

  7. JBBC says:

    Am having a lovely chocolate brownie now with a cup of coffee as I read this…and my enjoyment has been greatly enhanced at your words 🙂

  8. Steph says:

    JBBC – That sounds good. Any left? 😉

Leave a Reply

