A hard graft

I’d another appointment at the hospital yesterday. Almost 10 weeks have passed since the graft surgery and I’m still not out of the woods. It’s been a hard graft in more ways than one.

I’m still waiting to be reviewed by the surgeon in Nottingham. If you remember, volcanic ash caused the postponement of my post-op appointment 2 weeks ago. The surgeon who oversees my care here, was kind enough to see me again while I await returning to the UK. I’ve now had five sessions of treatment with him since the operation.

The good news from yesterday was that the graft has healed perfectly, covering up the area of bone left exposed by previous surgery. The not-so-good news was that the donor site from which the graft was harvested, has failed to heal properly. Having fixed the problem in one place, it seems another problem has now been created. Will it ever end? 😦

I knew something wasn’t quite right as my head hasn’t followed the usual pattern of healing following surgery. The sympathetic look on my doctor’s face when he said, “I hope it heals for you”, was distinctly unnerving.

Fingers crossed the news from Nottingham in a few week’s time, will be more positive. They say time is a great healer.

12 Responses to A hard graft

  1. Bendy Girl says:

    We EDS’ers do take much longer to heal so I’m keeping everything crossed that the extra time delay from the volcano will give the donor site time to catch up on it’s healing. BG Xx

  2. Annb says:

    As my mother always says “’tis an ill wind that blows no good” – link Bendy Girl I’m hoping that volcanic plume buys you lots of healing time. Funny thing though: in our house – the donor boy took a lot longer to heal than the recipient boy – and here’s me thinking he was just milking it – I have to admit to feeling a tad guilty now!!

  3. Steph says:

    Bendy – My thoughts exactly. I’m quite sure EDS has been a factor in a lot of the problems with my head. I always make sure to discuss it when considering surgery but as you well know, it’s relevance is often ignored until unusual problems surface πŸ™„

    Annb – My head is certainly better than it was 2 weeks ago so I’m hoping that the delay in getting back to see the UK surgeon, will work in my favour.

    He did warn me that the donor site would be a lot sorer than the graft and that has definitely been the case.

    No need to feel guilty, men are terrible patients at the best of times! πŸ˜€

  4. Grannymar says:

    Let the ash clouds blow a wind of change to your healing. One day at a time…. as the song says. No I won’t sing it, great to catch up with you today!

  5. Steph says:

    Grannymar – Ah, go’wan! I’d love to hear you sing it. If you can sing for your lunch, you can sing for me πŸ˜‰

  6. Baino says:

    I’m so with you when WILL it ever end! Excellent that you’ve been feeling better over the past fortnight though. Sorry Steph, I can’t even imagine what you’re going through frankly but think about you often. Take car of yourself.

  7. jenny says:

    you are an amazing role model for anybody experiencing health problems, albeit physical or mental. Im delighted to hear that you have been feeling better over the past few weeks, you certainly deserve to after all the bad luck that ash has blown your way. You’re amazing Steph, you never dwell on the negative and taking one day at a time is the way we should all live our lives, otherwords we become anxious about the path of our future and depressed about our inabiity to change the past.
    Live every day as it comes and then each night sign off on that night, so as to begin the next one ready for whatever it may throw at you!
    I wait with the upmost axcitement in anticipation of your next entry.

  8. Steph says:

    Baino – I suspect it may sound worse than it really is. I have nothing to complain about really when you consider those who are facing major decisions re their health. I wouldn’t even have mentioned this week’s revelation except that I know my readers enjoy getting an update on this seemingly never ending saga!

    jenny – Thank you. I originally wanted to call this blog ‘Que Sera, Sera’.

    ‘Whatever will be, will be’ has long been my approach to life. We can’t change the cards we’re dealt, just how we play the hand. I’m not a worrier, I cross bridges when I come to them.

    And, I very much look forward to the day when I’ve no medical adventures to report back to you!

  9. Achelois says:

    I just want you to be healed and bettter.

  10. Steph says:

    Achelois – Me too πŸ™‚ Thanks! You couldn’t have said it better.

  11. Geri Atric says:

    Yes indeed. Fingers crossed! What a strange thing for the doctor to say (scalp tingling) but I expect he just missed off the ‘soon’.
    I can imagine how thoroughly fed up you must be Steph. Hang on in there gal and don’t forget to treat yourself, with regular large doses of chocolate and coffee!
    Hopefully the doctor in Nottingham will find that stubborn graft healing nicely.

    P.S. I see Eyjafjollawhatsitsname is spitting again, so maybe a ferry ticket as backup (with cancellation insurance) might be a good idea after all?

  12. Steph says:

    Geri – Sitting here enjoying a lovely mug of coffee while I read this, thanks.

    If you knew how hard this surgeon has worked over the last 6 years and particularly, since last November, to get my head to settle down, you’d understand where he’s coming from. He didn’t actually need to say anything as far as I was concerned… his look said it all. It’s been a hard graft for him too.

    As regards travel to Nottingham, I’ll swim if I have to! Thanks for doing the worry warting for me πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

