It’s a conspiracy!

I should have known better.

When the Icelandic volcano erupted 4 weeks ago causing the cancellation of my trip to Nottingham, I left a comment on my blog saying, “Knowing my luck, the volcano will erupt just before I’m due to travel next month and all flights will be cancelled again”.

Guess what? Yes, you’ve guessed right. It’s happened again!

The volcanic ash cloud moved back over Ireland and the UK yesterday causing the cancellation of my early morning flight today. As luck would have it, flights resumed again at noon but this was of no help to me. With only one daytime flight daily to Nottingham, there was no way I could get to my appointment with the surgeon today.

When the surgeon heard that I’d been ‘volcanoed’ again, he joked about it saying, “It’s a conspiracy!”.

But you know what? He might be right 😯

From now on, no-one’s allowed to mention the ‘V’ word!!!

12 Responses to It’s a conspiracy!

  1. Grannymar says:

    Vinegar! πŸ˜‰

    I hope you went out to celebrate your birthday.

  2. Steph says:

    Grannymar – Stop teasing me! I’ve had a hard day.

    I cancelled my birthday this year so you’ve got a whole year to save up for my next one! πŸ˜‰

  3. Annb says:

    What if I buy you a jetski for your birthday? You could ‘V’room across the Irish Sea in no time… just a thought!

  4. Steph says:

    Annb – I’m NOT laughing πŸ˜†

  5. Nancy says:

    We KNOW you are not laughing, Steph! Who could laugh in the face of one disappointment after another?

    I want to wish you a happy Birthday anyway and say that you are one of the most brave,patient and admirable people I know.

    Keep well until the next time and we will all hope you have better luck then.

  6. Steph says:

    Nancy – A huge THANK YOU. You sure know how to keep me smiling!

    I’ve had a mammoth struggle to get flights re-booked for another appointment. I’m almost there but I’m not going to say another word about it in case it gets jinxed again! 😐

    I can’t smile ‘cos my lips are sealed! πŸ˜‰

  7. Bendy Girl says:

    Oh no! Better luck next time, and er hope you’ve got some lovely sunshine to compensate BG Xx

  8. Steph says:

    BG – It had to happen to me! Luckily, the folks in Notts saw the funny side of it and have been very accommodating.

    Keep wishing for SW winds please as that’s what’s needed to keep ‘certain’ clouds away πŸ˜‰

  9. Geri Atric says:

    Happy Birthday to yoooo… and that ‘V’ thing is pooo….
    You can definitely see why folks in ancient days worshiped the elements and natural occurrences as ‘Gods’ and tried to appease them. Perhaps the big firey guy will be content now that you have had to sacrifice yet another appointment…
    If only it were that simple aye Steph. I’m sorry.
    Hope you are not feeling (too) ill at the moment?

  10. Steph says:

    Geri Atric – πŸ˜€ I’m feeling well, thanks but I’d feel even better if only my stupid head would heal.

    As regards the appointment… please keep your fingers crossed it’ll be a case of third time lucky!

  11. Geri Atric says:

    Fingers, toes and everything else crossed!

Leave a Reply

