All Bunged Up

No, I’m not constipated and I haven’t got a cold or sinus infection but I definitely sound different. Can you guess why I sound all bunged up?

At long last, the custom-built nasal prosthetic bung has arrived in the post. The mould for the ‘bung’ was taken exactly a month ago today and I’d actually given up on ever seeing it arrive. It’s now four months since the graft surgery in Nottingham and the donor site in the left side of my head (where the graft was taken from) has still not healed. When I saw the surgeon last month, he felt that if the air could be occluded from entering the raw side of my head, it would facilitate healing. Hence my dispatch to the Maxillofacial laboratory to have a prosthesis made.

I have to admit that I’m suitably impressed by what has been produced. The nasal prosthesis is skin-toned (making it invisible to others) and hollow and fits inside my nose perfectly. It’s easy to insert and is soft and comfortable to wear without irritation. In fact, the only way you’d know that something has changed, is by the nasal intonation in my voice. I was warned that this would be the case but I really don’t care if it succeeds in getting my head to heal. I was also warned that the ‘bung’ could fly out of my nose if I sneeze violently. You have been warned!

On a slightly different topic… have a look at the picture below which I took (using a camera phone) from the inside of a hospital room in Nottingham.

The door on the left was the entrance to the single room that I occupied last February.

The door on the right was the entrance to the en-suite bathroom.

If you’d just had surgery, would you be concerned about someone coming into the room and colliding with you as you were entering/exiting the bathroom? I was!

I couldn’t believe the stupidity of the design of this hospital room.

11 Responses to All Bunged Up

  1. Grannymar says:

    YEAH! Do you sound like a New Yorker? Fingers, toes and everything crossed that it works!

  2. Nancy says:

    Hi Steph,

    Yes, everything crossed and candles lighted that this “Bung” works for you.

    It doesn’t matter if you sound like a New Yawka; just don’t sneeze! Get rid of the black peppa….

    Signed,

    Your American Cousin who tawks just like that….

  3. Annb says:

    Wishing you and your bung a happy, fruitful but shortish life together. Better stay away from the cat though – a sneezed bung at high velocity can build up quite a punch – not great if you’ve got a duff tail! 😉

  4. Steph says:

    Grannymar – Thanks! I’ll have to add a twang to my voice if I want to sound like a New Yawka! At the moment I just sound like I’ve got a cold in my ‘dose’ 😀

    Cousin Nancy – But, but… I love black peppa! 😦 I was actually sent a spare prosthesis as well so maybe if I shoved that one up the other side of my ‘dose’, I’d tawk like a real New Yawka!

    Annb – There’s nothing wrong with my tail 😉 The only bungs that will be popping around here, are ones made of cork… or should that be cawk? 😀

  5. Baino says:

    I hereby pronounce you either an honorary Aussie (we all have a nasal twang) or a potential American Idol singer because they also sing through their nose, so you’re in good company

  6. Geri Atric says:

    LOL to all these comments! Have you tried singing yet with the ‘bung’ in Steph? Have a go and make a recording to giggle at later, when you are all better. Probably be a great hit on youtube!

  7. Steph says:

    Baino – I’m deeply honoured!

    Geri – I’ll start practicing tomorrow!

    Having ‘worn’ the bung for the last 3 days, I’ve actually grown quite accustomed to it and I think my voice is less nasal as a result.

    I’m tempted to surprise the hospital staff at my next appointment by pulling the bung out of my nose and announcing “Wow! Look at that for a bogey” 😆

  8. Steph says:

    Geri – Perhaps, I should have explained that the bung is a Nottingham solution and the Irish back-up team are not familiar with it.

    I should also have mentioned that I can already feel improvements in my head so I’m fairly confident that the bung will solve the problem of my failure to heal.

  9. Alex says:

    Hi Steph,

    I am so sorry that you have had more issues and glad the bung is working out! I am going in the opposite direction with the next op. I will have stents put in to keep my airways open! As I got the major problem when they bunged up (excuse the pun) my sinus drainage.

    I have been on the anti-buggers again! Sometimes I wonder whether this little bugger is so inside me that it will never be eradicated but I am also confident that with the correct management I can learn to live with the signs and symptoms as I have self-managed for the past 8 years. I just want the confidence back to go with it so that I can conquer the world.

    Let us know how you are doing? Lots of best wishes, fairy dust and crossed fingers to you – Alex

  10. Steph says:

    Alex – Lovely to hear from you.

    I, too, wonder if I’ll ever be able to clear Staph aureus from my system. It’s been the cause of all my infections (not just head/sinuses) ever since the intensive antibiotic treatment to eradicate MRSA from my bloodstream. I’ve done the Staph A (6-month) detox routine several times but it still resides in my nose!

    I’m about email you as I’d love to hear more about your forthcoming op.

    Talk soon,
    Steph

Leave a Reply

