A New Beginning

Noticed anything different around here?

My son contacted me recently to ask if I was aware that ‘free’ advertising was appearing on my blog at the end of some of the blog posts. It was news to me and I wasn’t pleased to hear it as this is an ad-free blog.

Are you aware that if a blog is hosted for free, the hosting site has the right to put ads on the blog? The blog owner cannot see the ads as they are only visible to visitors to the blog. It’s one of the drawbacks of using a ‘free’ service to host a blog.

If your blog is hosted by WordPress, you will find the following statement in ‘Upgrades’ (on your Dashboard)…

We occasionally serve ads on WordPress.com as a way to pay our bills, purchase this (No-ads) to ensure that we will never show any ads on this blog.”

By paying a small annual fee to WordPress, it puts a stop to this practice.

As a belated birthday present, my son paid this charge on my behalf and while he was at it, he also upgraded my standard WordPress blog domain name (biopsy.wordpress.com) to a custom domain name… (biopsyreport.com). This is also a paid upgrade.

From now on, this blog will be known as Biopsy Report (noThe‘) and the URL is biopsyreport.com I’d be grateful if you’d update your feed reader/blogroll/bookmarks accordingly. The old URL will automatically be re-directed to the new domain name so there’s no need to change it unless you’d prefer to.

The email address remains the same… biopsyreport@gmail.com

So, a new beginning for this blog. I just wish it also marked a new beginning with my health…

I’ve been in melt-down since the weekend with a return of the severe headache which floored me some weeks ago. Life came to a standstill once more as the searing pain reduced me to a zombie-like status. The pain has thankfully eased today but I’ve been left with little or no sense of smell and an altered sense of taste. It’s also left me feeling somewhat despondent as I’ve run out of reasons to believe that my head will ever settle down. My tolerance levels are severely challenged at the moment. I need a break.

12 Responses to A New Beginning

  1. magnumlady says:

    I didn’t know that about the adverts. That was really nice of your son.
    I hope you feel better soon, you really have had a tough time of things xxx

  2. Marian says:

    Steph, I hope you feel better soon. God, headaches are bad enough but the added annoyance of your taste and smell being affected must be adding insult to injury. Get well soon.

  3. bendygirl says:

    Gentle hugs and feel better soon wishes. BG Xx

  4. Steph says:

    magnumlady – I was delighted with this ‘present’ as I would not have known how to get rid of the ads myself and I’m also very pleased with the new domain name. My son is very supportive of my blogging passion and has been a great help over the years. I’m feeling much better today thanks.

    Marian – It was lovely to meet you last weekend and thanks for checking up on me. I was very glad to make it to Portlaoise as I’d have been doubly grumpy these last few days if the headache had forced me to cancel at short notice. I’ve been very out of sorts this week and uncharacteristically downhearted about the situation with my head. However, having cancelled the world for 2-3 days, I’ve now re-grouped and am ready to face the world again!

    bendygirl – Thanks! My despondency has lifted today and I’m back on track. There’s no return of my sense of smell and taste as yet but I live in hope. To be honest, it’s a small price to pay when you consider the alternatives 😐

  5. JBBC says:

    This exact same thing happened me last year too Steph and I wasn’t happy at all. I contacted them and they said they would remove it straight away.

    But more importantly..so sorry to hear how you’ve been feeling since the wk/end. You looked the picture of health and wellness on Saturday, so it is terrible to hear you are in pain again. Sending you lots of special healing wishes. Marie xxxx

  6. Annb says:

    Glad to see from the comments that you’re feeling a little better today hope the improvement continues and you get to smell your morning brew again soon. Nice one from your son though – what a thoughtful gift. Could he train our boy wonder? Sending you lots of kitkat-type breaks and hugs. Take care

  7. cathy says:

    I am so sorry to hear that you were unwell and feeling down – you looked wonderful in PortLaoise, tanned and smiling, and it was a real pleasure meeting you.

  8. Lily says:

    Steph, so sorry to hear you weren’t well again. I was delighted to see you in such good form on Saturday. Glad to see from the comments that things are now a bit better for you.

  9. Grannymar says:

    Glad you are feeling a little better today and hope the progress continues.

    For some reason I never noticed the adverts. Great having offspring to sort out our techie woes! 😉

  10. Steph says:

    JBBC – It was lovely to meet you on Saturday, at long last. I’m sorry we didn’t get to talk more but hopefully it won’t be long before we meet again.

    I generally look disgustingly healthy even when I’m far from it. It’s about the only bonus that comes with having EDS as soft skin is a hallmark. Other patients have often said to me in hospital “but, you don’t look ill” even when I’m hooked up to numerous drips and very obviously unwell. The saying “you should never judge a book by it’s cover” definitely applies in my case. I’m fine again today, thanks.

    Annb – Thanks for your words of encouragement when I was out of it. It’s lovely to be back on form and enjoying communication again.

    My son is full of wacky ideas for presents. He sent me up in a hot air balloon last year! Now that I think of it, maybe he was trying to get rid of me 😕

    Cathy – Merci! It was lovely to meet a tanned and smiling you too!

    I’m grand now thanks and the headache is already past history although the cause of it is a little worrying as I’m meant to be ‘fixed’. However, today has been a good day so I won’t complain.

    Lily – I’m so sorry for not getting in touch to thank you for organizing Saturday so beautifully. It was great to get an opportunity to chat with you again, I hope you’ve had an easier week this week?

    I tend to go into hibernation when I have severe pain in my head, normal people go to A&E. I escaped this time with no need for antibiotics, just heavy duty pain relief and a patient husband.

    Grannymar – Thanks for putting up with my grumps yesterday. I’m back in circulation again today and feeling very much more cheerful. I’ve a check-up with the surgeon coming up shortly and will discuss symptoms then. Otherwise, it’s business as usual, with a smile!

  11. Baino says:

    Oh Steph you must be reaching the end of your tether, if pain isn’t enough, to lose smell and taste must be horrible. I honestly don’t know how you cope you have my undying admiration. I didn’t know that about ads although I use blogger so as far as I know, they don’t post unless you want them so. Sneaky buggers these network marketers.

  12. Steph says:

    Baino – You have it in one! I was at the end of my tether earlier in the week and feeling very sorry for myself. These latest symptoms were just adding insult to injury. However, life goes on and you have to maintain an optimistic outlook, otherwise you’d go barmy.

    To be fair to WordPress, they do clearly state their policy so it’s up to users to check out the conditions of service.

    This blog is an honest reflexion of my experience at the hands of the health service. It is not a forum for advertising anything!

Leave a Reply

