At Long Last

Lying in the recovery room in a post-anaesthetic induced haze, I remember hearing the surgeon say, “we’ve taken multiple biopsies, you have a nasty osteomyelitis in your head but don’t worry, you’ll be fine.”

Exactly a year to the day later, the same surgeon had a look inside my head yesterday and declared it “mended.” Hallelujah!

It’s been a long journey. Thanks for keeping me company!

HOW TO MAKE EXERCISE FUN…

Watch how few people use the stairs at the beginning of this video. And then watch what happens when they make the stairs into a piano.

20 Responses to At Long Last

  1. Grannymar says:

    Great news! I will raise a glass to you tonight!

    • Steph says:

      Grannymar – I’m delighted to have some good news to share for a change.

      The ‘bung’ proved to be the missing piece of the jigsaw needed to get my head to finally heal. I was so laid-back about going to the hospital appointment yesterday, I forgot to set an alarm and managed to sleep in!

  2. Jeanie says:

    Hallelujah indeed. Great news xxx

    • Steph says:

      Thanks! Jeanie.

      I’m not sure if it was me or the surgeon who smiled the most yesterday! It was so nice to come away from an appointment with good news to report.

  3. BendyGirl says:

    Fantastic news Steph, I’m delighted for you! BG Xx

  4. cathy says:

    Great, great news!

  5. Lily says:

    Great to hear and lovely for you to be able to post such a positive outcome. Fair play to you for your persistence, patience, intelligence etc. There was a great professional/patient partnership at work here.

    Loved the video clip. Now you can dance up and down those stairs. Did you see the other one with the slide?

    • Steph says:

      Lily – Thank you. Those kind words mean a lot to me and especially coming from someone who knows all about the importance of a professional/patient/family partnership.

      I can’t recall seeing a ‘slide’ video? Link would be appreciated!

  6. Annb says:

    Typical, I take my eyes off your blog for two days and miss the great announcement! I am so unbelievably pleased to hear this news – what a great start to the weekend. Well done to you Steph and your family. You have put in a very difficult year and come out the other side with wonderful grace and dignity. Like Grannymar, I’ll be raising a glass to your continued good health!

    • Steph says:

      Annb -I love it, “the great announcement.” I sure kept you waiting a LONG TIME to hear it!

      My appointment with the surgeon was actually hilarious as the so-called “end” to this saga kinda rushed up on us both, almost catching us unawares. When he enquired how things were, I delayed slightly (for good effect) before breaking into a smile and responding “pretty good.” He then got his own back on me by scoping my head without saying anything until he was finished and then with a large grin, he said “it looks damn good”.

      We’ve both been tested to our limits by the complications over the last year so it was really good to have the opportunity to draw a line in the sand to mark an end to this particular episode.

      It’s anyone’s guess how my head will fare in the future but right now, I’m happily settle for being let off the hook!

      Your wonderful humour and highly perceptive understanding of my situation, has been invaluable to me. I hope (by now) you’ve enjoyed many glasses on my behalf. Cheers!

  7. mike says:

    Great news Steph.

  8. Geri Atric says:

    Fantastic news Steph! Congratulations! Bet you feel like dancing up and down the stairs too..(?)

    All those operations and treatments… although I realize they were necessary – but in the end, depriving the infection of oxygen was what did the trick. Amazing!

    Take care and keep well. Here’s wishing you a wonderful pain/infection free future.

    • Steph says:

      Thanks! Geri

      As the saying goes… “necessity is the mother of invention!” The nasal prosthesis was a last ditch attempt to get my head to heal without having to resort to further surgery and thankfully, it worked!

      I can think of lots of ways to go down in history but I never thought it would be because of a nasal bung!

  9. Zoe says:

    Hi Steph
    Very pleased to hear the good news.
    Zoe xx

Leave a Reply

