Reasons to be cheerful

I don’t need to be admitted to hospital…Having consulted my GP about the latest infection in my head, he advised that I should be admitted to hospital for IV treatment. With my extensive resistance to antibiotics, treatment is limited to antibiotics which can only be given under hospital supervision. With a heavy heart, I presented myself for admission through A&E yesterday morning. After a long day of tests and assessment, the doctors concluded that I did not need to be admitted to hospital.

The infection is not systemic… While the recent swab analysis showed resistance to the antibiotic which saved my bacon last year, as well as resistance to methicillin (MRSA), yesterday’s tests confirmed that I am not systemically unwell with the present infection and therefore there is no need for intensive antibiotic treatment.

I was assessed by a new doctor… My own consultant was unavailable and so my care was overseen by his senior registrar whom I’d not met before. This worked to my benefit as it meant that my head was fully assessed from a new standpoint. Following a thorough endoscopic examination (the surgically altered internal anatomy of my head earned some interesting comments as he’d not seen anything like it before), I was sent for a CT scan.

The scan ruled out any serious complications… Reassured by the scan result, the doctors decided to opt for conservative treatment. I’ve been commenced on a rigorous regime of daily sinus wash-outs with a hypertonic saline solution. It’s not pleasant but if it manages to flush out the infection without recourse to systemic antibiotics, I’m happy.

It was heaven to come home to my own bed last night… When you are admitted to hospital with a positive MRSA status (colonization or infection), you have to be nursed in isolation to prevent cross-infection. In the hospital which I attend, all MRSA cases are put into a large isolation unit as they do not have en-suite single rooms. I had been dreading going back into this particular isolation unit.

I awoke this morning secure in the knowledge that the right decision has been reached… Conservative treatment is the right decision for now. It makes no sense to bombard my system with potent antibiotics just because I’ve tested positive for MRSA. While pus is discharging down the back of my throat, I’m not having severe headaches and I feel reasonably well. I’ve been instructed to return to the hospital if my symptoms worsen but otherwise I will be reviewed in a few weeks time. I told you I was in good hands!

I’m enormously grateful for the messages of support received over the last few days. It’s a real pleasure to bring you this good news.

12 Responses to Reasons to be cheerful

  1. Lily says:

    Delighted for you.

    I love your attitude with your six (I counted them!) reasons to be cheerful post.

  2. Annb says:

    I’m so glad you are in good hands – but that new reg is extremely fortunate also, to have such a well informed patient. It’s great when the system listens. Take care and rest up you are playing a blinder!
    Respect! Annb

    • Steph says:

      Ann

      As you well know, it’s never easy having to start ‘at the beginning’ with a new doctor but I think we managed to impress each other. It was good to have someone take a fresh look at my case and comment accordingly.

      When he’d finished scoping my head, I saw him shake his head in disbelief. He commented that it was difficult to examine my head as none of the usual anatomical landmarks were present, to guide the scope safely. He sent me for a CT scan to be on the safe side!

  3. Grannymar says:

    Great news. Now take it one day at a time.

  4. BendyGirl says:

    Wonderful news, I’m so, so pleased for you! I hope you’re taking it easy though Steph? BG Xx

    • Steph says:

      Bendy

      I am indeed pacing myself carefully, not that I’m what I’d classify as ‘sick’ at the moment but I want to give myself the best chance possible, to get on top on the infection.

      I’ve no intention of allowing myself to end up in that awful MRSA unit ever again!

  5. Baino says:

    Aww Steph, I don’t know how you sustain your cheerfulness frankly. I’ve had a chest infection for 3 weeks and I’m a total puss about it all. I sincerely hope your situation does NOT worsen.

    • Steph says:

      Baino

      Sorry to hear you’ve been out of sorts. Must have been the long haul flights that did it?

      I can tell you, there was nothing cheerful about me last Thursday as I headed into the hospital to be admitted. My daughter had the day off college and kindly kept me company for the first few hours of hanging around in A&E. I was a very happy camper to escape the hospital that evening.

  6. Achelois says:

    Good good good good. xoxoxoxoxoxoxoox

Leave a Reply

