Checking-In

My bum hadn’t even touched the seat when I heard my name being called out. It seems not everyone was prepared to brave the elements today as there was no queue and I was in and out of the hospital in double quick time. If only the health service worked like this all the time!

I struggled through the slush and biting easterly winds this morning to get to my hospital appointment. Having examined my head endoscopically, my surgeon was pleased to report his findings. While the three-times-daily sinus wash-outs are not a lot of fun, they seem to be doing the trick. There is no evidence of infection in my sinuses at the moment.

We then discussed the recent swab result and it’s consequences for me. As I’m clinically well right now, I do not require antibiotic treatment despite my positive MRSA status. However, should I develop an acute infection, I’ve been instructed to report to A&E as I’m now resistant to so many antibiotics, I can only be treated with hospital-prescribed antibiotics.

I left the hospital with a prescription for an antibiotic nasal ointment which is an effective topical treatment for methicillin-resistant Staphyloccus aureus (MRSA) and also instructions to continue doing the wash-outs.

I’m now officially on holiday from the hospital until after Christmas. Fingers crossed please, this holiday doesn’t get cut short.

16 Responses to Checking-In

  1. Baino says:

    Hello stranger. Definitely fingers crossed for you.

    • Steph says:

      Hi Baino

      Yes, I know. I’m guilty as charged. I’ve been very out of touch with my blogging friends recently. No excuse, just busy keeping up with life. It’s actually a good sign when I go quiet as it usually means that I’ve nothing to moan about!

  2. Annb says:

    Fantastic news – that has made my day I know what it’s like to get a Christmas free from hospital – you so deserve it. Talk soon xx Annb

    • Steph says:

      Ann – As I left the appointment yesterday, the doc said “Now, don’t go slipping on the ice outside the hospital as I don’t want to see you ending up in A&E with broken bones.” That’s when I pointed out that I was wearing hiking shoes 😀

  3. Grannymar says:

    Great news, stay safe warm and well!

    • Steph says:

      Thanks, GM.

      It was nice to talk to you earlier today. I’m glad I haven’t got a cold at the moment as I reckon a dripping nose might result in icicle formation.

      It’s Arctic tonight!

  4. BendyGirl says:

    That’s fantastic, I’m so pleased to hear this! I’ve been thinking of you as I started on Nexium last week. I knew to be really cautious for side effects thanks to you, but so far so good. It makes me feel a bit weird but it is definitely helping the gastritis. Fingers crossed for us both! BG Xx

    • Steph says:

      Bendy – I’m sorry to be so out of touch. I really have neglected the blogging community 😦

      I’ve been worrying about you too. I’m very pleased to hear that Nexium has worked in your favour. I dumped all mine back on the chemist as I never wanted to see the stuff again after the problems it caused me. It just goes to show that we’re all different.

      I hope you’re not suffering too much from cabin fever in this freezing weather?

  5. Nancy says:

    Well, good for you, Steph for braving the elements and getting to the hospital in such nasty weather.

    Hope you continue to feel OK through the Christmas holidays and beyond!

    Funny you folks having the ice and snow and we here in Pennsylvania are into lashing rain and high temps.

    I will be thinking of you and will be keeping my fingers crossed for your continued good health…..

    • Steph says:

      Thanks! Nancy

      I’m thinking of applying for a sub-aqua qualification as I’ve so much salt water going through my head, I feel like I’d survive any underwater challenge!

      Sorry for the delay in replying… our internet was down yesterday.

      We had another heavy snowfall last night leaving our world looking very beautiful this morning… well, beautiful as long as you don’t have to go anywhere.

      A damn nuisance, if you do!

  6. magnumlady says:

    Hi Steph, only just read this now. I hope you have a lovely Christmas and that you will be well soon xx

  7. BendyGirl says:

    I’m sending love and condolences across the sea. Thinking of you BG Xx

  8. Amanda says:

    Sorry to read about your mom. I want to thank you for sharing your experience with MRSA. I was just diagnosed with it in my sinus. Of course, I am very worried. I have two children ages 8 years and one 7 months old and my husband. I pray this will not be a terrible struggle the rest of my life. God Bless.

    • Steph says:

      Amanda

      Welcome to my blog and thank you.

      MRSA is everywhere. Unless you are dangerously ill or severely immuno-compromised, a diagnosis of MRSA does not automatically spell disaster. It merely means that you have developed a resistance to a bacteria called Staph aureus. There are many antibiotics available to treat MRSA so please don’t despair.

      I’ve had several recurrences of MRSA infection in my head and I’m still very much here to tell the tale!

      Best of luck with your own treatment.

Leave a Reply

